Blogroll

Follow by Email

Search

SammyDress Review

Featured Post

Micro Mink Sherpa Blanket Review

SpazeApparel.com is your one-stop-shop for basic American clothing for every-one. Our collection of blank garment is from most renowned...

Dresses

Driven Coffee Roasters

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Thimble Down Review


Thimble Down, by Pete Prown, is a fantasy adventure novel, written to challenge and engage young adults ages 10 to 18. The book is recommended for readers who enjoy The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings, The Wind in the Willows, Redwall, Artemis Fowl, and other timeless tales set in landscapes and cultures that bring to mind England, Ireland, Scotland, and the British Isles. Thimble Down is a country village where death and malice lurk the quiet lanes. When the vile, drunken Bing Rumple acquires a gem-laden treasure, violence begins to follow him everywhere. Where did Bing find such a precious jewel, and worse, is someone willing to kill to possess it? In this fast-paced adventure, the village bookmaster, Mr. Dorro, and his young companions Wyll Underfoot and Cheeryup Tunbridge are in a desperate race to find the answer—before death comes to Thimble Down.

Thimble Down is the first book in the “Chronicles of Dorro” young adult mystery series, which follows Dorro, Wyll, and Cheeryup, on their exciting, but dangerous, mystery adventures.

I was given a copy of this book free in exchange for my honest opinion

My Review

This book is full of fun and adventure. It's perfect for people of all ages, especially preteen boys. My 8 year old is a bit of an advanced reader and I think he would love this book. It has the same feel as the Lord of the Rings series. This book is part of the Chronicles of Dorro series. In this book Bing Rumple and friends are searching for a jewel. They must find it before everyone else, even if it means they risk their own lives doing so. This story is full of thrills and adventure and leaves you wanting more. The world of Thimble Down is intriguing and described in such detail that you feel you are there. The halfling and elf characters are well developed and have great personalities that draw you in to the story even more. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book!

About the Author


Pete Prown is a noted American writer of Young Adult fantasy books, as well as a magazine and book editor, and journalist. He’s written both fiction and non-fiction books, including THIMBLE DOWN and a series of instructional titles about guitars. Also a talented musician and recording artist, his Guitar Garden music is available on CDBaby.com and iTunes. For more information, go to peteprown.com.

Get the book on

1 comment:

  1. Awesome review! This sounds like a book that my oldest Selena would love to read!

    ReplyDelete