Search

Loading...

Monday, July 27, 2015

Turbo FAST Review



On July 31st, Turbo and his crew take Turbotown by storm in the all-new season of DREAMWORKS TURBO FAST, premiering exclusively on Netflix July 31st. The world’s coolest snails take a turn off the track and set off on a wild ride filled with hilarious hijinks at every turn. You’ll laugh out loud when they launch into outer space, battle an apocalyptic robot, clash with a ninja stinkbug and escape a booby-trapped treasure hunt.




Review

My boys loved the original Turbo movie when it came out. When the first season of Turbo FAST showed up on Netflix they were very excited. They have watched these episodes over and over and still never get bored, and laugh the 100th time just like they did the first.

Turbo FAST is a very cute show for kids that is funny and clean. It's enjoyable for the whole family, and not nearly as annoying as some of the other shows on television and Netflix. There is plenty of adventure and laughs in every episode. My boys are obsessed with racing, and basically anything fast, so this is the perfect cartoon for them. They love watching Turbo and his friends race the different tracks, and take on all the original zany characters.

New episodes are available on July 31st. Mark your calendar!

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Dryel Review



Whether we’re at the office or out on the town, we always want the clothes we wear to look their best. Every wardrobe tells a story and keeping clothes in good order is critical to setting the right vibe. But when it comes to our delicate garments, sometimes we just can’t find the time or money for all those trips to the dry cleaners. 

Dryel is a patented at-home dry cleaning process that is easy to use and cheaper than the dry cleaners. You can quickly refresh and renew your clothes in only 15 minutes in your dryer. Dryel safely and thoroughly cleans clothes, protects colors and preserves shapes without any harsh chemicals. Dryel is also eco-friendly, biodegradable and includes no hard chemicals. 


My Review

I don't have a lot of clothes that need dry cleaning or special handling, so it's not really cost effective for me to have to take 1 or 2 things to be dry cleaned. It's a pain in the you know what, so I rarely wear anything that is not wash and wear. Dryel makes it easy to dry clean those special items in the comfort of your own home, no fuss, no hassle. 

The Dryel At Home Dry Cleaner is great for those items that you wear only a few times, and are not really stained and dirty, but need a little bit of refreshing before re wearing. I have a shirt and 2 dresses that fall into this category. The bag and sheets in this kit that I received have worked great for my needs. My clothing comes out of the dryer soft, they look clean and smell great.

The starter kit and refill sheets are very affordable, and will save you quite a bit of money over trips to the dry cleaner. You will also have your clothes available to you quickly, without having to wait for them to come back from the dry cleaner.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Triscuit Summer Snacks Review

   
 We believe that when you weave together three simple ingredients, you get so much more. That’s why Triscuit starts with just wheat, oil and salt.

 
Triscuit has partnered with five artisanal food producers – Makers of More - to create exclusive products specifically designed for Original Triscuit crackers. Topping the Original Triscuit this summer: Detroit’s McClure’s Pickles’ Olive Tapenade, Brooklyn’s The Jam Stand’s Cherry Ginger Jam, Orlando’s Wondermade’s Blackberry Marshmallow, Portland Oregon’s Olympia Provisions’ Summer Sausage and Georgia’s Savannah Bee Company’s White Honey with Passion Fruit.

  
 

Reviews

Detroit’s McClure’s Pickles’ Olive Tapenade- This is a new item from McClure's made with all naturally cured green olives from California, McClure's special brine recipe, garlic, lemon and rosemary. My husband and sons are the pickle eaters in the house, so they were excited to try this new spread on the Triscuit crackers. My husband thought it would be like a relish, but it has a slightly different texture to it. The flavor is kind of strong, but they all liked it pretty well. It was a bit on the strong side for me, but that is truly a matter of personal taste. This would be a nice summer appetizer for parties and get togethers. 


 Brooklyn’s The Jam Stand’s Cherry Ginger Jam- This is a unique flavor to what we normally use in this house. My boys are pretty hooked on their favorite grape and strawberry jellies and jams. It's nice for the grown ups to have something a little different, and a little more grown up tasting for our snacks. This jam is sweet, with a little bit of tart and is a nice contrast against the salty of the crackers.



 Orlando’s Wondermade’s Blackberry Marshmallow- I will admit I have a bit of a marshmallow addiction. I didn't share very many of these. I'm such a mean mommy. I have had flavored marshmallows before, so I was excited to try this new flavor. The marshmallows were full of flavor, and melt in your mouth squishy. These only lasted about 2 days here, and we didn't even get to try them on the Triscuit's. I can imagine the marshmallows would also be a great sweet and salty contrast with the crackers.


 Portland Oregon’s Olympia Provisions’ Summer Sausage-  My husband is a huge fan of summer sausage. He usually keeps some on hand and changes out what kinds of crackers and cheese he uses. This sausage has a great taste to it, it's a little tangy but not too spicy for me and our boys to be able to enjoy it. This summer sausage can be eaten just sliced and with some cheese and crackers, or you can heat it up a little bit on the stove also.

 Georgia’s Savannah Bee Company’s White Honey with Passion Fruit- Honey is delicious, but flavored honey is even better. We have just recently discovered the deliciousness of different flavors of honey. There is such a wide variety that you would probably never get bored of trying new ones. This Passion Fruit honey is smooth, creamy, and absolutely mouth watering. You only need to use a little bit of this honey to enjoy the flavor, so even a small jar lasts awhile. 


We weren't huge fans of Triscuit crackers before this review, but now that we know there are so many different products out there to accompany them, I think we will be including them on our grocery shopping lists more often.


6 Steps to Avoid Bedbugs as Vacation Souvenirs

6 Steps to Avoid Bedbugs as Vacation Souvenirs

 Bedbugs have been snacking on humans for centuries, but had become very rare in the U.S. by the time Mrs. Cleaver started vacuuming in pearls. Because of the widespread use of pesticides like DDT as well as the vacuums wielded by more and more housewives, most Americans grew up without even knowing that they were a real insect. Perhaps due to the regulation of pesticides (for good reason!), an increase in global travel, and a reduced awareness about how to identify and prevent bedbug infestations, this ancient pest has made a comeback. Around the time we were panicking about Y2K, bedbugs started becoming a problem in cities like New York, Miami, Los Angeles, and San Francisco. By 2010 bedbugs had become an epidemic, and not just in these “gateway cities.” They’ve hopped rides on suitcases and made themselves comfortable in dorm rooms, motels, and five-star hotels all over the country.
Just thinking about the subject is enough to make one’s skin crawl, so here’s a quick and dirty guide to avoid bringing them home. With a few precautions, travelers can once again “sleep tight” in that hotel room, and enjoy a worry-free vacation.

1. Do Your Research
When choosing a hotel, look at reviews, and keep an eye out for any report of bedbugs. The bedbug registry can be a good resource. Keep in mind that there is no way to tell if someone misinterpreted mosquito bites from last night’s rooftop dinner, or wanted to spread malicious rumors about the hotel — so take reviews with a grain of salt. Also, most hotels will take every measure to eliminate bedbugs, once discovered. It’s possible that a problem last year, or even last week, has now been resolved. Before booking a room, it may be a good idea to ask about the hotel’s bedbug prevention practices.
2. Inspect the Room
After finally getting that keycard to work, a savvy traveler should temporarily stash their luggage in the bathroom (the least likely place for bedbugs) and do a quick inspection. It can be helpful to bring a small flashlight along for this purpose. To check the bed, un-tuck the sheets and look all the way around the perimeter of the mattress and box spring, as well as along and behind the headboard. If the bed looks okay, check out potential hiding places near the bed. Look in drawers and crevices in the bedside table and under the lamp, telephone, and notepads. Also check under picture frames above the bed. If all is clear, do a final inspection under cushions on other furniture, in cracks in the luggage rack, and along the baseboards in the closet.
3. Look for Clues
Bedbugs look roughly like apple seeds, and like to hang out in crevices of mattresses and bedding. There are also other telltale signs that bedbugs are present — even if the critters themselves are not visible. Look for rusty spots or little black specks that may look like pepper or mold. Bedbugs also leave behind dark lines, especially in the seams of mattresses. Be on the lookout for white powder, as well. This could be an insecticide, and might indicate a previous problem in the room. Hotel guests who do become a bedbug’s snack may notice itchy bug bites the next day, often occurring in a line of three or four.
4. Take Action
If the search turns up any of these signs, call hotel staff right away. In many states, hotels are not legally allowed to have guests stay in a room or a bed with a bedbug problem, so if staff are not accommodating, it may help to be familiar with state bedbug laws. For example, in California, hotels are required by law to provide bedding that is free of bedbugs, and in Kansas, lodging establishments cannot rent out guest rooms that have been infested. When you move, be sure to request a new room at least 2 floors away, in case the infestation has spread.
5. Protect Your Luggage
If this simple inspection doesn’t uncover anything suspicious, weary jet setters can go ahead and bring their suitcases into the room. To be on the safe side, however, don’t leave them on the floor or on a bed. Use luggage racks or a hard surface, such as a desk. For an added layer of protection, keep luggage encased in plastic (like a garbage bag or zip-up bag made especially for suitcases). This will ward off bedbugs not only in the hotel, but also in transit. If it seems like overkill, just bring a plastic bag to use for dirty laundry. Bedbugs are attracted to the clothing we have worn, so keep it wrapped up.
6. When You Return
Back home, either dry clean or wash all clothes (even unworn items) in hot water. The water should be at least 122°F in order to kill any of these bugs that might have somehow followed you home. Wipe down shoes with a hot, damp cloth. Vacuum suitcases inside and out, and store them in plastic. Afterward, change the vacuum bags and take out the trash. Finally, make yourself comfortable to look nostalgically at photos and purchases from the trip, then sleep tight knowing bedbugs are not among your souvenirs.
This post was posted by Fiona Moriarty on Hipmunk’s Tailwind blog on July 2, 2015


Friday, July 24, 2015

How To Get Around Vancouver, BC

How to Get Around Vancouver, BC

When visiting Vancouver, there is no need to rent a car because the city has a superior public transit system. Known as TransLink, the public transportation option encompasses the SkyTrain, buses and ferries to get you around quickly and efficiently. Numerous hotels in Vancouver are located in the downtown district within walking distance to the transportation options the city has to offer.
Here is a guide to successfully getting around Vancouver.


TransLink

TransLink will efficiently get you anywhere you want to go in Metro Vancouver. It is also a unique transportation system because the entire design of TransLink focuses on providing passenger with unforgettable views of the city. When riding any one of TransLink's services, you will have the dual opportunity of not only getting to your destination, but also enjoying a bit of sightseeing.
Within the heart of downtown Vancouver sits the Four SeasonsHotel. It is within walking distance to several TransLink transit options, any of which will whisk you to whichever destination you desire.

Buses

The TransLink bus service runs from 5:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m. every day. The city's express line makes fewer stops than the traditional buses and are often favored by local commuters. The TransLink bus service is operated by the Coast Mountain Bus Company.
The MetropolitanVancouver Hotel sits near numerous bus stops, which makes utilizing public transportation in the city a breeze.

SkyTrain

The SkyTrain serves downtown Vancouver and the outlying areas. The SkyTrain runs every day and you will only have to wait a few minutes between cars.

Canada Line

The Canada Line is a part of the SkyTrain system. You can ride a speeding train from the airport to downtown Vancouver or out to Richmond. There are 16 stations servicing the Canada Line, and the trains leave every four or seven minutes and run seven days a week.

SeaBus

The SeaBus ferry service runs from Waterfront Station in Vancouver to Lonsdale Quay. It runs daily and is the perfect way to catch unforgettable views of the city and the nearby mountains framed by the sea.

AquaBus

The AquaBus will take you to Granville Island, a popular tourist area to dine and shop for the day. If you plan to visit Granville Island, consider staying in one of the GranvilleIsland Hotel's 82 comfortable guest rooms.

Vancouver provides visitors and locals with optimum transportation options. If you plan to spend a weekend or an extended vacation in the area, you will not have a problem getting around and exploring all that the area has to offer with exceptional public transportation options provided by the city.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Silk Plants Direct



Silk Plants Direct is your one stop shop for all your home decor needs. Whether it's a special occasion or festive season, you want to say Thank You or Love You to your loved one, do it with something which would last for seasons rather than weeks. Do it with our silk flowers! With highest quality silk plants and artificial topiaries, Silk Plants Direct offers you home decorations perfect for every occasion and setting. From artificial trees to sympathy flowers, Christmas trees to wedding flowers, artificial palm trees to outdoor plants, we have the largest assortment of beautiful artificial plants for all the special occasions and people in your life.


I received an item from Silk Plants Direct at no cost in exchange for an honest review.



My Review

We have lived in our new house for a little over two years now, but I haven't collected very much decor in that time. We have been using our kitchen table as a catch all for quite awhile now, so I picked out this Candle Holder Centerpiece specifically for my table. When I actually get around to cleaning it off that is lol. This piece came packaged nicely, and there was no crushing or damage, and the glass candle holder was well protected.

I have a bit of a black thumb, so I don't do well with live plants in the house. This centerpiece has a combination of Peony and Hydrangea flowers with some additional accessory pieces and leaves. Unless you look really close, it almost looks like real flowers. The candle holder is a nice piece also, and can even be used without the centerpiece ring if you would like. The flowers don't die, and they are easy to just wipe off or dust quickly.

Silk Plants Direct has a wide variety of items to fit any decor, project or craft. They also offer funeral and grave site arrangements.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Gaea Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review



In constant search of the very best olive oil, Gaea has traveled all over Greece selecting producers and products of exceptional quality and distinct characteristics from the country's most celebrated olive oil producing regions. The P.D.O. region of Sitia in eastern Crete is one of the most celebrated olive oil producing territories in the world. Since the Minoan era, almost 5000 years ago, the extended sunshine, mountainous grounds and rich soils of Crete, have provided a unique microclimate for the cultivation of olive trees. Obtained directly from handpicked renowded " Koroneiki" variety olives, the first cold-pressed superior category olive oil carries the unique combination of a harmonious taste with a fruity & slightly peppery aroma.


We received a bottle of the Kalamata Extra Virgin Olive Oil at no cost in exchange for an honest review.


Our Review

My husband is the cook in our house, and he loves to cook with Olive Oil. He likes to test out recipes with different types of Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I didn't tell him this bottle was coming, so it was a nice surprise for him. He could not wait to start cooking with it. One of our favorite side dishes is fried potatoes. This EVOO makes frying potatoes easy, no sticking to the pan at all, and adds a really great flavor. He has also added a little bit of this olive oil to water when we cook pasta. It keeps the pasta from sticking, and adds a nice flavor to the pasta itself to go along with the sauce and spices we use. It only takes a small amount to add a lot of flavor to all of our favorite dishes!

Gaea:  Rosemary, Thyme, Garlic and Lemon Marinade


Ingredients:
Salt
Pepper
Splash of Gaea Greek Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 x lemon
2 cloves garlic
Few sprigs fresh thyme
Few sprigs fresh rosemary

Directions:
Mix together 2 cloves garlic, a few sprigs of thyme and a few rosemary stalks in a little Gaea Greek extra virgin olive oil. Add the juice of 1 lemon and the zest of half a lemon along with some salt and pepper and pour over the chicken.

Monday, July 20, 2015

Devera Naturals Review




Devera Naturals' natural skincare products reflect the original recipes formulated by Swiss ancestors based on our shared belief that pure ingredients provide the best results.


I received Bodacious Lips at no cost in exchange for an honest review.



Plant extracts and emollient oils combine to make this rich and lasting formula a winner! This multi-tasking formula is a plumper, balm, and gloss! Licorice Root extract helps increase collagen in the lips. A unique Micro-Delivery System delivers the extract to the lips for long-term hydration and plumping.

My Review

I have always had kind of thin lips, and my lips are affected by weather outside, and the air conditioned environment I work in. I use Chap-Stick and other products, and they help with the dryness and keeping my lips from cracking. I have not tried a product with a plumper in it before, and was excited to try this one.

This product goes on smooth and has almost no scent to it. I have heard other's say that some plumpers can make your lips feel swollen, or sting. I did not experience either of these effects with this product. It was the same feeling as wearing lip gloss or lip balm. my lips looked a little fuller, and soft, and they felt great. No cracking or splitting skin anymore!

If you are looking for an easy to use, and very useful lip product this is it!

Sunday, July 19, 2015

New Costumes from Costume SuperCenter Review



CostumeSuperCenter is your one-stop source for costumes and accessories for all holidays, parties and occasions. At CostumeSupercenter.com, costumes are not just for Halloween!


We received a costume from Costume SuperCenter at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

We chose the Ninja Turtles Costume for my 7 year old to review.

He loved it!





Review

Costumes are not just for Halloween in this house. My boys love to pretend play, and when they are able to have actual dress up costumes or clothes to go with their imagination, it is so much funner for them. My 7 year old is very into the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. He was very excited, to say the least, when this new costume arrived for him from Costume SuperCenter! He could not wait to try it on. The material is soft and stretchy, which is good because he's a constant motion machine. The extra pieces are also soft, attach by velcro so they stay on, and come back off easily. The mask is also made of a soft rubber material, so it's easy for him to wear, and doesn't scratch up his face like the plastic ones sometimes do.

My son has been wearing this costume now a few times a week and absolutely loves it. It has gone through the wash once and has held up perfectly. He is also now very excited that he already has his Halloween costume and can't wait to go around and show all the neighbors and get candy!

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Magic Opener Review



magic Opener Bottle Opener and The Extreme Magic Openers. - | - C o n g r a t u l a t i o n s - | - Opening Pull tab Food Cans, Small, Medium or Large Water or Soda plastic bottles from all different brands and stores will be just a snap for you now.

Whether you're looking for a twist off - Arthritis aids - Arthritis Help, Ring pull - can opener, or a way to easily open different Pet food cans, plastic bottles, water bottles, aluminum Can, Pop Beer, Pop soda and/or beer cans, traditional glass bottles or you've tried other bottle openers with little or no success, Magic Opener ® may be the answer to a more confident easy daily successfully opening for most of the different beverage containers existing on the 21st century, including the newest coca cola plastic top or the latest small water bottle plastic tops. It does work very well, very easy, very fast and very comfortable on your hands ...as 1- 2 - 3 Guaranteed, or your money back. Magic Opener - Easy-Open Bottle Opener. Never again fight with a flip top can, tug at a twist top or mangle a metal cap - the amazing Magic Opener handles each type of beverage opening with ease. 




Our Review

I love this Magic Opener! I know that sounds funny to say about a kitchen gadget like this, but I mean it! I am right handed, and unfortunately have a lot of weakness in my right hand from some previous injuries and issues I have. I'm sure I'm not the only one who knows the struggle of trying to open a drink bottle, and it's screwed so tight you can't get it, and there is no one around to help! I swear it has made me almost cry sometimes, I just want my drink! This Magic Opener opens almost any kind of drink container you can imagine. It has 2 sizes for twist off lids, can open pry off lids on beers and wine bottles, and even a can tab opener. I don't have to break nails, or worry about cutting my hand anymore, I just grab the Magic Opener and it's easy peasy! This is also magnetized, so it stays handy and within reach on the refrigerator. My boys can even use this to open their own drinks, which is a nice break for mom and dad. This is absolutely a kitchen must have!