Powered by Blogger.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Dying For Sex Book Review


Lindy Sutton has her hands full. In between having her clown act clobbered by pint-sized critics, keeping a group of sex-crazed octogenarians from starting brawls in the raciest bar in town, and trying to keep her crazy Aunt Pip from being tossed out of Laughing Pines retirement home, she still has to contend with her son’s garish band bus parked in her driveway. Could things get any worse?

Yup! Margaret Quaid, the social worker at Laughing Pines is found dead of an apparent overdose and the drop dead handsome detective on the case, thinks she stole the drugs from the retirement home and was pretty active in the world of wife swapping to boot. 

Lindy’s temper soars, along with her long dormant hormones, as she sets out to clear Margaret’s name, find the murderer and make the sexy detective, Mike Grogan, eat crow. Aided and abetted by the aging, but flamboyant Chappy Lowton, her eccentric and sarcastic sister, her best friend Patty, and that hoard of sex-crazed geriatrics, Lindy wades into the world of swingers only to find that there are plenty of people with a motive to kill the social worker. Lindy's antics and adventures will keep you fascinated and laughing until the very end.

I received a copy of this book free in exchange for an honest review

My Review

This is the ultimate, perfect summer beach read! I literally did not stop laughing from page one to the very end. The characters are developed so well that you feel like you are reading about your best friends. They are all a bit quirky and hilarious, and even the bad guys will make you laugh. I literally laughed so hard at some parts of the book that I had tears running down my face. The story is very well written with a wonderful mixture of suspense and comedy. There is a large dose of sexcapades thrown in for good measure. I usually don't read books that have a lot of sex in the story, however this book came at it from such a comedic angle that it's not overly offensive or crass. The murder mystery was developed perfectly. It kept me guessing until the very end. Just when I thought I had it figured out, another wrench was thrown in and I was left guessing again. I am absolutely im love with the characters from Dying for Sex and I have my fingers crossed for more adventures with my new favorite book friends!

About the Author


Lynn C. Albrecht started her career in broadcasting. Quickly realizing she was not going to be the next Lisa Laflamme, she entered the world of corporate communications. After years of writing videos, speeches, advertising, and dressing in power suits with shoulders pads that made her look like Hunter Hearst Helmsley, she had a great epiphany. She ditched the shoulder pads and returned to school. Five years later, she was released into the unsuspecting healthcare system as a social worker. She works at St. Mary’s General Hospital in Kitchener, Ontario.

Lynn lives in Baden, Ontario with her infinitely patient husband, John Belton.
Dying For Sex is her first book. She is currently hard at work on the second Lindy Sutton mystery.


Buy

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Unbreakable Bonds Review


Carolyn Aspenson’s (Unfinished Business) latest picks up the story of Angela Panther’s dealings with her dead mom, Fran and the duo’s dynamic is as delightful as ever! Angela had her psychic gift under control until a traumatic loss shut it down. And now that Angela’s daughter is in too deep with a boy and her best friend Mel’s husband is cheating, she needs her mom more than ever. Fran knows that when you’re a mom, there’s no such thing as till death do us part and she won’t rest in peace while there’s strife in her daughter’s life. Using her nifty celestial superpowers, she’s soon back in the game and helping out, regardless of her daughter’s defunct gift. But Angela and Fran are sure to work it all out in this hilarious, heartwarming sequel that proves the bonds between mother and daughter are indeed unbreakable!

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review

I also reviewed her first in this series, Unfinished Business. You can read that review 


My Review

I was so excited to get to read this second book in the Angela Panther series! I read this book in three days. Reading this book was like sitting down for a coffee date with old friends. I fell in love with Angela, Mel and Fran in Unfinished Business. The relationship between Angela and Fran is touching most of the time, and laugh out loud funny the rest of the time. I literally laughed out loud while reading some of the back and forth banter between the women, and had tears in my eyes at some of the more serious touching moments. In this installment of the series Angela's gift is "wonky" and she has to learn some lessons within her self to try to get it working again. I never give spoilers in my reviews so you will have to read the books to see what happens. The author has hit another big time home run with this book. The story, even when involving ghosts, is very believable and the characters are so well developed and real. When you read these books you feel like you're listening to your best friend tell you about their weekend. I just can not rave enough about how great the book is and how great the stories are! I really hope to see more of this fabulous trio!


About the Author


Carolyn Ridder Aspenson is a freelance writer based in Cumming, GA. She lives with her husband and three children, two dogs and one cat. Carolyn doesn't see ghosts, but swears she'd be okay with it, as long as it was only during daylight hours. 

Follow the author: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Monday, April 21, 2014

Color Me Monthly Review


Color Me Monthly is a fun and simple subscription service that delivers gorgeous nail polish to your door for just $7/month. We are passionately committed to providing the highest-quality, toxin-free, and cruelty-free ingredients. We don't believe in charging our customers a premium for flashy marketing and pretty packaging; instead, we focus our efforts on continuously improving the quality of our products. In addition to our monthly subscriptions, we also offer gift options and sell some of our past colors in a section of our website called The Vault.

I was sent the April box from Color Me Monthly at no cost in exchange for an honest review

The color for April is Chiffon

"graceful elegance like you are floating on air woven from softness"


*My mom's hand :)*

My Review

I love my hands and my nails. I love colors and designs and bling on my nails. Right now I have acrylic nails on and I get new and different designs every few weeks. When you go to the same place all the time though, you eventually run through the colors and the techs design ideas. I am in need of some new and unique colors to take with me next time. This box from Color Me Monthly cam just in the nick of time. I like to be a little bright and outrageous sometimes, but I also love my soft muted pretty colors. This color is Chiffon. I am a huge Purple fan so I'm always looking for new shades. This color fits the bill perfectly. It's not quite time for my next fill, so my mom let me paint her nails. This polish is great. This polish is toxin free and has no smell. I don't mean a light smell or a not so bad smell, it really has no chemical smell that I could detect. It went on smooth and covered her nails easily with no ridges or feathering. It dries pretty quick too. I am very impressed with this polish and will definitely order again from Color Me Monthly. It's extremely affordable also. You're not paying for fancy packaging, it comes in a cute little plain cardboard box. The polish speaks for itself. If you love your nails check them out!

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Does Your Child Smell Like Cigarette Smoke?


Does Your Child Smell Like Cigarette Smoke?

Kids in school can be relentless when it comes to picking on others. Everything from looks to smells can be the focal point of bullying for these children. While you try your best to help prevent your child from being victimized in this fashion, are you aware that your smoking can be affecting his or her life in the classroom? You could inadvertently be causing greater issues for your child other than an unhealthy lifestyle.


Cigarette smoke can permeate through clothing and can become very strong to those that are not regular smokers. Since you smoke cigarettes or cigars, you don't really notice the stale burnt tobacco scent that clings to your clothing. A child can still smell like a smoker hours after being in contact with the actual smoke itself. This is partly due to the fact that cigarettes can leave a kind of residue that creates a thin film on everything it touches. Heavy cigarette smokers can see this effect on walls that have been stained with a yellow tint. It is this film that is collecting onto your child's clothing every time you light up in his or her presence.



As if the health benefits of quitting smoking were not enough, think of the welfare of your child while he or she is in school. Find out how you can quit smoking and reduce the bullying your child may be experiencing throughout the day. Don't help the bullies target your child because he or she smells like an ashtray everyday.

Reading Books for Early Readers Encourage a Love of Books

Reading Books for Early Readers Encourage a Love of Books


Reading books for early readers encourage youngsters to develop a love of books that will last a lifetime. Children in kindergarten through fifth grade systematically build their reading skills with these books in the classroom as they progress to higher levels. They read fictional stories as well as nonfiction and build their vocabularies and ability to comprehend complex sentences. 


The fiction chapter books as well as the nonfiction books provide useful information for the children and help them learn more about real-life challenges and solutions. A chapter book might tell the story of a youngster who has asthma and is embarrassed to use his inhaler. Another of these books might focus on kids finding an injured bird and subsequently learning about wildlife rehabilitation centers. A nonfiction book might focus on topics such as dinosaurs, frogs, interesting occupations and activities youngsters enjoy.



Since different topics appeal to different children, a broad range of subjects are available in these books for early readers. Students will be able to read about nature, science, history, sports and more. Fiction structure includes mysteries, fantasy stories and books with positive messages. Some have recurring characters that children look forward to reading about in story after story. Publishers of readers for elementary school children know the kinds of story structure that youngsters tend to like best and the topics they find most appealing.

Kushyfoot Spring Review


Kushyfoot leg wear products are made by Doris International, one of North America’s finest hosiery manufacturers and suppliers of prestigious private label programs for retailer. Available in over 10,000 doors around the nation and online, and in more than 50 styles, they deliver unheard-of comfort and high-end quality at affordable price points ranging from $3.99 to $9.99 retail. Flats to Go®, tights, trouser socks, anklets/crews, foot and toe covers, shoe cushions, sport socks (including pedicure and yoga socks) and home/dorm socks comprise the collection. Kushyfoot also offers men's socks and liners.

I received 3 different types of Foot Covers

Ultra Low Cut
Extreme Low Cut and
Sport Foot Covers

And I received a pair of their Sheer Anklets at no cost in exchange for my honest review






My Review

I love my Kushyfoot products. I know I can count on Kushyfoot to have the perfect products for my overly sensitive achy feet. I had previously reviewed their Flats To Go and 2 types of hose and I was amazed. I was excited to get these brand new foot cover products. I knew I would love them, and as I was sure, they did not disappoint! I have Fibromyalgia and my feet are one of my most sensitive areas with this condition. I have neuropathy in my lower legs so I almost never wear heavy or bulky shoes. It helps that I live in Florida of course. I have a lot of little slip ons and very low cut light tennis shoes. It's hard to find socks that go with and are comfortable with those types of shoes. Kushyfoot has hit the nail on the head with these foot covers. There is one sure to go with every shoe type. The Ultra and Extreme Low Cut covers have the massaging comfort sole in them. That's very helpful if you are on your feet a lot. The soles relieve tension and fatigue. These are so cute and pretty that I almost don't want to wear shoes with them. If you are looking for the perfect covers and socks for spring for your cute spring shoes you need these! Check Kushyfoot out below!!

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Pound Puppies A Perfect Match Review


The Pound Puppies find they have their paws full with their newest adventures! In A Perfect Match, the Pound Puppies come to the rescue when a so-called “un-matchable puppy” finally finds his match – and loses him, assist a shy puppy on a High Energy Scouts camping trip, help a furless pup to bolster his confidence, and they have to investigate why a paper girl’s deliveries are always late!

Episodes Include:

The Yipper Caper
Working K-9 to 5
Hello Kitten
Beauty is Only Fur Deep
No More S’mores

We received a copy of this DVD at no cost in exchange for our honest review

Our Review

I remember the Pound Puppies from when I was little and absolutely love that they are still around. I also love that my boys love them as much as I did and still do! The episodes are adorable and the voices are spot on for the characters. The boys find them funny and engaging. There's a great lesson wrapped up in the fun and cuteness. Human kindness and acceptance of others are very important lessons every child should learn at an early age and carry with them in life. With all the other mindless, mind numbing and ridiculousness on TV I'm glad I have found a great show that they love and that I'm ok with them watching. They love that they have these great episodes on DVD and can watch whenever they want. Pound Puppies are a needed addition and a must have for every child's movie collection!

Available on


and at major retailers!

A Surgeons Calling Review


A Surgeon's Heart: The Calling is an endearing medical theme romance, featuring Jack Roberts, a well-respected pediatric heart surgeon and leader of his profession. When his compassion and dedication to his young patients are challenged by an ever changing health care environment, Jack remains steadfast in following the calling of his heart.

Inspired as a boy with the idea of being a surgeon, Jack struggles to overcome numerous obstacles along the way to becoming a well-respected physician leader. But, with the dawn of the twenty-first century, the world of medicine begins to change, threatening his traditional beliefs and commitments as outside forces attempt to gain control over his profession. 

I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review

My Review

I fell in love with this book almost immediately. This is a fictionalized story but the characters and plot are so realistic that you think your reading non fiction. The story revolves around Dr Jack Roberts and his passion for medicine from a young age. As happens, everything changes as the world progresses, and passion takes a back seat to big business. This story was touching at times, and it was frustrating to see what the characters were dealing with at other times. There is so much uncertainty in the future of medicine and healthcare right now that this book will hit home with every reader. In among this story of health care big business and personal passion for his career you also see the love story and family life of Dr. Jack Roberts. This was an amazing book that I highly recommend. I can't wait to see what comes next!

About the Author


Robert Walter Sewell was born on November 20, 1950, in Independence, Missouri, and moved to Texas with his parents at the age of twelve. He has lived in Texas since, attending Thomas Jefferson High School in Port Arthur and Lamar University in Beaumont, where he received a bachelor’s degree in biology. He went on to the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, where he achieved his medical degree in 1974. He was accepted into the general surgery residency program at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio and completed his surgical training in 1979. After finishing his residency, Dr. Sewell immediately began his surgical practice in the Mid-Cities of North Texas, then moved his practice to its current location in Southlake, Texas, in 2003. He remains an active surgeon today, with an emphasis on minimally invasive general surgery at the Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Southlake. As a recognized specialist in the field of laparoscopic surgery, Dr. Sewell has lectured on various minimally invasive procedures throughout the United States and around the world. He is a member of the American Society of General Surgeons (ASGS) and was elected president of that organization in February 2008. He is also a fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS) and has served as a governor since 2013. Dr. Sewell maintains memberships in the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons, the Texas Medical Association, the Tarrant County Medical Society, as well as the prestigious Texas Surgical Society. Along with his wife, Donna, Dr. Sewell resides in Colleyville, Texas, a suburb of Fort Worth, where he enjoys golf, photography, computer graphics, video production, gardening and, of course, writing.

Get the Book


Follow

Friday, April 18, 2014

Spring Cleaning, Termite Edition


With spring-time weather around the corner, it’s important that we are aware of the tiny creatures that incur an estimated $5 billion in property damage each year: termites. Warm temperatures, rain and humidity lure termites from their nests and their damage – rarely covered by home insurance—accounts for more than storms, fires, and floods combined.

Having all necessary information is the first line of defense in combatting springtime pests. Truly Nolen has all the tools you need to treat and avoid termite infestations.

Below is a list of tools I received to use and review at no cost

· Truly Nolen stress ball to keep you calm while preparing for this year’s termite season.

· Small wrench to tighten your pipes. Remember, termites love moisture!

· Number 2 pencil. Mud tunnels are pencil-sized tubes that protrude from a house’s exterior walls and serve as an environment of protection and moisture for termites.

· Measuring tape so you can be sure that your home has the recommended minimum of 6 to 8 inches between ground level and porch steps, lattice work, door or window frames, etc.

· Small flashlight to help you search for rippled or sunken traces behind wall coverings, which are indicative of termite infestation.


 


My Review

I'm one of those women that never really gives pests or bugs much thought, until I see them or see their damage, and then I flip my lid. Now that we are renting a really nice house down here in FL I'm very OCD about pests and anything that will affect my beautiful house. Did you see above where it says warm temps, rain and humidity? I'm in the capital of all three of those! My husband is in charge of anything outside the house, so this little kit, especially the flashlight and measuring tape, will come in handy for him. My boys think the little wrench is adorable, and I'll use the stress ball while worry about whether or not we have any pest issues! LOL. We will definitely be speaking with our landlord about how he handles pest control here and what we need to watch for and let him know about. I'm so glad I got the chance to work with Truly Nolen. They have helped us educate ourselves on termites and pest control. Check them out for yourself and keep your home healthy and beautiful!

Visit the Truly Nolen Website and check out all the different services they offer to make your home pest and termite free!

Thursday, April 17, 2014

PeachSkinSheets Review & Giveaway


PeachSkinSheets™ is based out of Atlanta, Georgia and features The Original Ultra-Soft Comfort Bed Sheet made from PeachSkin™ high performance fabric. We pride ourselves on being a quality company with a quality product, and going the extra mile for our customers. We know that you will LOVE sleeping on PeachSkin™ Softness!

I got a set of PeachSkin Sheets at no cost in exchange for my honest review



My Review



I am very particular when it comes to my bedding. My sheets and pillow case and blankets have to be just right. I got these new PeachSkin sheets to review and could not wait to see if I would like them. We washed them right away so we could get them right on the bed that day. I noticed as soon as we started making the bed how soft they were! They fit my over sized queen mattress with no difficulty, and actually still have a bit of play in them. It's hard to find really nice sheets with deep pockets that actually fit and stay on the bed. The flat sheet fits great also and hangs over nicely on both sides and at the bottom. I get so hot at night even with the ac on and usually have to flip my pillow a few times, and throw the sheets on and off a few times. These sheets are awesome. They don't feel like they are clinging to me at all. They feel very light and soft and I don't feel like I'm laying in a pool of sweat all night. We've washed them a few times now and they stay true to size and don't fade either. These really are some of the nicest sheets I've had. I would definitely buy a few more sets! If you're Spring Cleaning and re decorating for Spring and Summer you need to check out PeachSkin Sheets!!


Win a set of PeachSkin Sheets!!


 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
UA-29785896-1