Search

Loading...

Monday, April 27, 2015

The Missing Alchemist Review



Having grown up in an orphanage, Craig Pike appreciates his comfortable life as a student of Cornelius, a famous alchemist. But when Cornelius is kidnapped, Craig leaves comfort behind to search for him. 

Craig teams up with Audrey Clife, a clever archer, and together they travel across mysterious lands and battle otherworldly creatures. Their journey reveals that Cornelius’s kidnapping is only a small part of an evil alchemist’s elaborate grab for power, and the only people standing in his way are Craig and Audrey…

I received a copy of this book at no cost from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Review

My 9, soon to be 10, year old son is an avid adventure story reader. I knew this would be the perfect book for him. This is an adventure with fantasy, danger, and magic. My son loved getting into this story and talked about it constantly as he read it. I read this along with him and the situations and adventure and characters were perfect for his age group. He was able to understand and enjoy everything that happened in the story. The story was fun and interesting enough to keep my attention also. We have read other books together from this author and will continue this series to see what happens next!

About the Author

Caldric Blackwell realized he loved reading when he read about a bunch of people (with single-syllable names) and their pets (also with single-syllable names) in kindergarten. Exposure to a host of great authors during his college years inspired him to begin writing. He currently resides in central California, where he writes, gardens, and plays a variety of string instruments.

Big RITZ Review



It’s no secret that bigger is always better, especially when it comes to snacking. That’s why RITZ Crackers is celebrating the launch of new Big RITZ – a larger-than-life way to take your snacks to the next level with America’s favorite flaky, buttery cracker available at retailers nationwide for a limited time only.




Big RITZ Product Information:

2.5 inch in diameter
Serving size: 3 crackers
· 80 calories
· 1 g SAT FAT
· 140mg SODIUM
· 1g SUGARS

We received a package of Big RITZ at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

Recipes

RITZ Tostadas

8 RITZ Crackers
3 Tbsp. shredded lettuce
3 Tbsp. refried beans, warmed
2 tsp. cheese dip, warmed
8 slices jalapeño peppers

Instructions
TOP crackers with remaining ingredients.

RITZ Pizza Snacks

24 RITZ Crackers
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tsp. Italian seasoning

Instructions
TOP crackers with remaining ingredients.
PLACE 6 topped crackers on microwaveable plate. Microwave on HIGH 15 sec. or until cheese is melted.
REPEAT with remaining crackers.

Our Review

We love snacks here in this house. Crackers with cheese, peanut butter and any other number of toppings we can think up are our favorite kind of snack. We have been eating RITZ crackers, in all varieties for a lot of years. We were excited to get these Big RITZ and try them out. These Big RITZ are a huge hit here! We can pile so much more of our favorite toppings on them. They don't crumble easily either. They have the same awesome RITZ cracker taste, there's just a lot more of it!

Sunday, April 26, 2015

Safe Catch Tuna Review



A healthy diet includes plenty of lean protein, which for many people often means eating seafood on a regular basis. While a great source of lean protein, Omega 3 and other vitamins and minerals, some fish also have high mercury levels, and if eaten often enough can cause a mercury build up in the body leading to unwanted side effects. One type of fish with potentially high mercury levels that has been an American favorite for generations is canned tuna. Canned tuna is not regulated for mercury levels at all. One canned tuna can have minimal levels of mercury that the body can easily process out. Another can have mercury levels nine times what the EPA recommends as safe to consume in one day. Until now, there has been no way to tell which can is a safe meal and which could be unhealthy. 

Now, for the first time, a company is introducing a canned tuna where every single fish is tested for mercury and only pure fish are used. Safe Catch is the only 100% mercury tested tuna on the market and it is also cooked using a unique method that seals in more Omega 3s than other brands.


We received a can of Safe Catch at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

Our Review

We buy tuna quite a bit. It makes a great quick snack or lunch and it's inexpensive and easy. We can also fancy it up a little bit without too much effort or expense. With this Safe Catch Tuna we can enjoy one of our favorite snack foods, and I don't worry about how unhealthy it might be. Safe Catch is the only brand with a tuna that meets Environmental Working Group’s “Best Seafood” criteria for mercury and Omega 3s. I never really worried about foods and what additives might be in them until I had kids. Now I really read labels and pay attention to what is going into their little bodies. Safe Catch is really good, it tastes better than the store brand tuna we usually buy. There is a bit of a higher price for Safe Catch, but when it comes to something as important as your health, it is worth it in my book!

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Crashing Into Love by Melissa Foster


NEW RELEASE........
Book #12 The Bradens, Love in Bloom Series #20

Only one woman could hurt ultra-alpha bad boy Jake Braden.
Only one woman can heal him.
Fiona Steele has arrived…

Fiona Steele has a great career, strong friendships, and a loving family. To an outsider, her life appears happy and fulfilling. But the one thing that’s missing is true love, and the only man Fiona wants is the one she can’t have, sinfully handsome and seductively intense Jake Braden—the man whose heart she broke, which she has regretted ever since.

As an LA stuntman, Jake Braden’s at the top of his game. He’s hired for all the best movies, hooks up with the hottest women, and lives an unencumbered lifestyle where his needs come first—and where he doesn’t have to examine his life too closely. Except when he visits his family in his close-knit hometown of Trusty, Colorado, where he spends his time avoiding Fiona—the only woman who knows who he really is.

When Fiona’s best friend is hired to act in Jake’s movie, Fiona jumps at the chance to try to win him back. There’s no denying the white-hot attraction burning between them. With every encounter, Fiona hopes Jake can’t resist falling back into the love they once shared. But her well-orchestrated rendezvous doesn’t go over well with the brooding heartthrob. Living in the fast lane is perfect for a guy who’s buried his emotions so damn deep he’s not sure he can remember how to feel—and he’s not sure he ever wants to.

THE BRADEN COUSINS are one of the newest additions to the LOVE IN BLOOM series.
**CONTENT WARNING: Due to mature content, recommended for readers aged 18+**

Available to buy from ...

Melissa Foster is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling and award-winning author. She writes contemporary romance, new adult, contemporary women’s fiction, suspense, and historical fiction with emotionally compelling characters that stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her books have been recommended by USA Today’s book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the World Literary Café and Fostering Success. When she’s not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success. Melissa has been published in Calgary’s Child Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Women Business Owners magazine.

Melissa hosts an Aspiring Authors contest for children and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa lives in Maryland with her family.

Melissa is available to chat with book clubs and welcomes comments and emails from her readers. Visit Melissa at The World Literary Cafe or her personal website.
Never miss a brand new release, special promotions or inside gossip again by simply signing up to receive your newsletter from Melissa.
You can find the author on the following sites...
Follow the Book Tour

Photobucket
I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

ALSO AVAILABLE IN THE LOVE IN BLOOM SERIES...


NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY !!
Five lucky winners will each receive the Sisters in Bloom ebook
Ending on Sunday 3rd May at 11.59pm EST
Open Worldwide

Enter Below & Good Luck !!



Tuesday, April 21, 2015

5 benefits of music lessons for kids


5 benefits of music lessons for kids

Between school, sports and the various other activities that your kids are involved in, you might wonder whether it’s worth squeezing music lessons into their already packed schedules. However, even if you’re little ones already have plenty to keep them occupied, it’s well worth considering these learning sessions.

Bear in mind that you don’t have to commit to buying an instrument as soon as your youngsters start their lessons. Instrument providers like Caswell’s Strings offer rental 
services, meaning you can try before you buy. Meanwhile, when you’re mulling over the question of whether to kickstart your little ones’ musical careers, consider the following five benefits.   

1) Boosting intelligence

Many experts believe that offering children music lessons can increase their intelligence. For example, the findings of one study conducted by a team from the University of Toronto suggested that taking music lessons could raise youngsters’ 
IQ. The researchers offered a group of six-year-olds free weekly voice or piano lessons at the Royal Conservatory of Music for nine months. After this period, they measured the children’s IQs and found an average increase of seven points. This was 2.7 points higher than the average for two control groups, who were offered either no extra lessons or free drama sessions.

2) Increases physical coordination

As well as potentially boosting brain power, music lessons may help kids to develop their physical coordination. After all, instruments like the violin and piano require players to perform different actions with their left and right hands simultaneously. Like playing certain sports, this can have a positive impact on youngsters’ motor skills.

3) Teaches patience and discipline

Let’s face it, patience and discipline aren’t things that usually come easily to children. This is another reason why music lessons can be a good idea. Learning an instrument teaches kids about deferred gratification and about the importance of working towards goals.

4) Enhances social skills

The sessions can also enhance social skills. Group classes are especially good for this because they involve plenty of peer interaction and they can encourage teamwork. One-to-one lessons are also beneficial though. After all, children have to learn to communicate effectively with their teachers, and this can make them more confident around adults.  

5) Raises self-esteem

Last but by no means least on this list, music lessons can raise kids’ self-esteem. Picking up a new skill is great for their confidence, and it also helps youngsters to accept and respond to constructive criticism. Meanwhile, if they perform their music in front of friends, family or classmates, children can also become more confident in front of groups.

Given all of these advantages, it’s well worth offering your children the chance to learn a musical instrument. In the worst case scenario, they’ll simply lose interest and give up. Alternatively, you might find you have a budding Beethoven in your midst.

Zyllion Shiatsu Neck and Back Massage Pillow with Heat Review



Here at Zyllion, we understand that it can be a stressful world. That is why we provide every one of our customers with the most innovative, relaxing, and therapeutic, health and personal care products.


I received the newest product from Zyllion, the ZMA-19-BK Shiatsu Neck and Back Massage Pillow with Heat, at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

My Review

I have a lot of back and leg pain. If you follow my blog regularly you know I have Fibromyalgia and Arthritis and a few other health issues. I absolutely live for and depend on awesome products like this massage pillow to help my poor body keep going. I have another slightly larger pillow from Zyllion and I love it. I couldn't wait to get this one and try it. This one is a smaller size but is every bit, if not more powerful. The heat option really helps too. I use this Shiatsu massage pillow for my lower back, neck and my legs. This pillow even comes with an adapter so I can use it in the car on long trips. The massage function is amazing, and it really works for my back pain and my leg pain after a long day at work. The Shiatsu really works out the kinks and makes my sore muscles feel better.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Kidz Gear Headphones with Mic Review


Kidz Gear - #1 selling brand of Headphones for Kids. Kidz Gear has been focused since 2002 on developing products that are made with, function like and last as long as adult products but are specifically designed with children in mind.




Our Review

My boys are both seriously connected to everything electronic. They play on daddy's computer, phone, my Kindle and their XBox. I make them use headphones so I don't have to listen to every single song or game they play. They have gone through quite a few pairs of headphones, they are so rough on them. These Kidz Gear headphones are perfect for my boys. They stand up to them and their roughness with no problems. They love that these have the microphone on them too for playing games with friends on the XBox. These headphones have a volume control on them so I don't have to worry about them playing anything too loud and damaging their hearing. The biggest problem now is getting them to share them. They also come with a nice carrying case so they can use them when we travel. These are the best headphones I have found for my boys so far!

Kidz Gear is available on Amazon.comApple Store, Target and several other online retailers.

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Flo Fusion On-the-Go Drink Review



Celsius® is Earth's first negative calorie drink. Get faster results and accelerate your transformation!


Celsius®, the world's first Negative Calorie beverage, teamed up with International Platinum Recording Artist, Flo Rida, to create the Flo Fusion™ Transformation Accelerator On-the-Go Powder

Celsius® Flo Fusion™ is Backed by 6 Published University Studies, and is Clinically Proven to:

Burn 100 Calories and More Per Serving
Burn Up to 93% More Body Fat Per Serving
Increase Metabolism
Provide Healthy Energy

Healthy Features of Celsius® Flo Fusion™:

· No Sugar
· No High Fructose Corn Syrup
· No Aspartame
· Very Low Sodium
· No Preservatives
· No Artificial Colors or Flavors
· Vitamin Enriched
· Tastes Great!

Celsius® Flo Fusion™ is a great tasting drink for your active, healthy lifestyle. Studies show that drinking Flo Fusion™ before moderate exercise helps you burn up to 100 calories and more per serving, boosts metabolism, burns up to 93% more body fat, increases endurance and provides lasting energy to accelerate your transformation no matter what diet or training routine you are on. The great tasting Flo Fusion™ Transformation Accelerator Powder has the same benefits as the “ready to drink” Celsius and is available in Berry or Orange flavor.

I received 2 boxes of each flavor of Flo Fusion at no cost in exchange for an honest review.


My Review

I am a mom, I work full time, run my blog, and take care of my house and family. I feel like I never stop running and moving from one thing to the other. I am not one who needs to worry about burning fat really, but I could sure use some extra energy. I have been using coffee and energy drinks, and there is always a bad crash when they wear off. I like these on the go drink mixes because they really do taste good. There is no gritty after taste, they mix well, and I can feel a difference in my energy levels during the day. I have tried so many different drinks and mixes, and these are one of the best tasting ones I've tried. They really do make me feel like I have more energy to complete the 1001 tasks I feel I need to do every day. 

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Expressions Bracelets Review and Giveaway


Expressions is a bracelet design company that specializes in creating the trendiest, high quality bracelets on the market today. I also do custom orders so that my customers and I can create a one of a kind, uniquely fashionable piece. 


I received 2 pieces from Expressions Bracelets at no charge in exchange for an honest review.



My Review

I love bracelets. I was so excited to get these bracelets from Expressions Bracelets to review. Jewelry is a girls best friend. I can't wear earrings, and necklaces still bother me some because my kids are still young and they get hung up in little hands. Bracelets are the perfect accessory. I received the beaded bracelet, and the metal cuff pictured above. 

I love the turquoise color of the beaded bracelet and the way the gold cross contrasts with the blue color of the beads. The bracelet fits nicely, and is eye catching. It goes with almost anything I wear.

The cuff bracelet is also perfect. The saying "Just Breathe" is one of my mantras that I repeat probably 20 times a day at my rather stressful full time job. The cuff fits nicely on my arm, and goes with anything from pajama pants and a t-shirt to a nice dress for a night out.

I am impressed with the designs and quality of these bracelets and will ordering more from Expressions Bracelets!


Win a Personalized Cuff Bracelet!

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Personalized Engraved Cutting Board



A personalized cutting board is a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary, wedding, housewarming and many more occasions in your life. In addition this boards make memorable gifts, allowing for that personal touch to show appreciation to business partners or prospective clients.

All boards are carved from the highest grade of natural wood, quadruple sanded, immersed in mineral oil and finished with homemade board butter for ultimate durability, luster and shine. Personalization is achieved with a state of the art laser engraver. Straga Products has created more than fifty unique templates to commemorate the special occasions in a person's life. Each and every board comes with cutting board butter and in beautiful gift wrapping at your choice.


I received two beautiful engraved cutting boards at no cost in exchange for an honest review.



Our Review

These cutting boards are beautiful. We love to cook and I love to have nice items in my kitchen. Plain jane plastic or wood cutting boards don't really add anything to kitchen decor. I was offered the chance to review these cutting boards from Straga. I had one made for me and my husbands wedding date and I also had one made for my parents, whose anniversary is coming up in July. The one I chose for us (Zuna) is a Purpleheart wood. The one for my parents (Williams) is Walnut. The engraving is done by laser. I was able to select the design I wanted, they have so many to choose from! You can also choose the font you want and the size of the cutting board. You can have it gift wrapped, and have a note card included if you want to send one as a gift.

The boards come with body butter to treat them before you use them, and to keep them in good shape as you use and clean them. The non engraved side is the side you use to cut on while you can display the engraved side when you're not using it.