Powered by Blogger.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Pound Puppies A Perfect Air Match Review


The Pound Puppies find they have their paws full with their newest adventures! In A Perfect Match, the Pound Puppies come to the rescue when a so-called “un-matchable puppy” finally finds his match – and loses him, assist a shy puppy on a High Energy Scouts camping trip, help a furless pup to bolster his confidence, and they have to investigate why a paper girl’s deliveries are always late!

Episodes Include:

The Yipper Caper
Working K-9 to 5
Hello Kitten
Beauty is Only Fur Deep
No More S’mores

We received a copy of this DVD at no cost in exchange for our honest review

Our Review

I remember the Pound Puppies from when I was little and absolutely love that they are still around. I also love that my boys love them as much as I did and still do! The episodes are adorable and the voices are spot on for the characters. The boys find them funny and engaging. There's a great lesson wrapped up in the fun and cuteness. Human kindness and acceptance of others are very important lessons every child should learn at an early age and carry with them in life. With all the other mindless, mind numbing and ridiculousness on TV I'm glad I have found a great show that they love and that I'm ok with them watching. They love that they have these great episodes on DVD and can watch whenever they want. Pound Puppies are a needed addition and a must have for every child's movie collection!

Available on


and at major retailers!

A Surgeons Calling Review


A Surgeon's Heart: The Calling is an endearing medical theme romance, featuring Jack Roberts, a well-respected pediatric heart surgeon and leader of his profession. When his compassion and dedication to his young patients are challenged by an ever changing health care environment, Jack remains steadfast in following the calling of his heart.

Inspired as a boy with the idea of being a surgeon, Jack struggles to overcome numerous obstacles along the way to becoming a well-respected physician leader. But, with the dawn of the twenty-first century, the world of medicine begins to change, threatening his traditional beliefs and commitments as outside forces attempt to gain control over his profession. 

I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review

My Review

I fell in love with this book almost immediately. This is a fictionalized story but the characters and plot are so realistic that you think your reading non fiction. The story revolves around Dr Jack Roberts and his passion for medicine from a young age. As happens, everything changes as the world progresses, and passion takes a back seat to big business. This story was touching at times, and it was frustrating to see what the characters were dealing with at other times. There is so much uncertainty in the future of medicine and healthcare right now that this book will hit home with every reader. In among this story of health care big business and personal passion for his career you also see the love story and family life of Dr. Jack Roberts. This was an amazing book that I highly recommend. I can't wait to see what comes next!

About the Author


Robert Walter Sewell was born on November 20, 1950, in Independence, Missouri, and moved to Texas with his parents at the age of twelve. He has lived in Texas since, attending Thomas Jefferson High School in Port Arthur and Lamar University in Beaumont, where he received a bachelor’s degree in biology. He went on to the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, where he achieved his medical degree in 1974. He was accepted into the general surgery residency program at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio and completed his surgical training in 1979. After finishing his residency, Dr. Sewell immediately began his surgical practice in the Mid-Cities of North Texas, then moved his practice to its current location in Southlake, Texas, in 2003. He remains an active surgeon today, with an emphasis on minimally invasive general surgery at the Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Southlake. As a recognized specialist in the field of laparoscopic surgery, Dr. Sewell has lectured on various minimally invasive procedures throughout the United States and around the world. He is a member of the American Society of General Surgeons (ASGS) and was elected president of that organization in February 2008. He is also a fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS) and has served as a governor since 2013. Dr. Sewell maintains memberships in the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons, the Texas Medical Association, the Tarrant County Medical Society, as well as the prestigious Texas Surgical Society. Along with his wife, Donna, Dr. Sewell resides in Colleyville, Texas, a suburb of Fort Worth, where he enjoys golf, photography, computer graphics, video production, gardening and, of course, writing.

Get the Book


Follow

Friday, April 18, 2014

Spring Cleaning, Termite Edition


With spring-time weather around the corner, it’s important that we are aware of the tiny creatures that incur an estimated $5 billion in property damage each year: termites. Warm temperatures, rain and humidity lure termites from their nests and their damage – rarely covered by home insurance—accounts for more than storms, fires, and floods combined.

Having all necessary information is the first line of defense in combatting springtime pests. Truly Nolen has all the tools you need to treat and avoid termite infestations.

Below is a list of tools I received to use and review at no cost

· Truly Nolen stress ball to keep you calm while preparing for this year’s termite season.

· Small wrench to tighten your pipes. Remember, termites love moisture!

· Number 2 pencil. Mud tunnels are pencil-sized tubes that protrude from a house’s exterior walls and serve as an environment of protection and moisture for termites.

· Measuring tape so you can be sure that your home has the recommended minimum of 6 to 8 inches between ground level and porch steps, lattice work, door or window frames, etc.

· Small flashlight to help you search for rippled or sunken traces behind wall coverings, which are indicative of termite infestation.


 


My Review

I'm one of those women that never really gives pests or bugs much thought, until I see them or see their damage, and then I flip my lid. Now that we are renting a really nice house down here in FL I'm very OCD about pests and anything that will affect my beautiful house. Did you see above where it says warm temps, rain and humidity? I'm in the capital of all three of those! My husband is in charge of anything outside the house, so this little kit, especially the flashlight and measuring tape, will come in handy for him. My boys think the little wrench is adorable, and I'll use the stress ball while worry about whether or not we have any pest issues! LOL. We will definitely be speaking with our landlord about how he handles pest control here and what we need to watch for and let him know about. I'm so glad I got the chance to work with Truly Nolen. They have helped us educate ourselves on termites and pest control. Check them out for yourself and keep your home healthy and beautiful!

Visit the Truly Nolen Website and check out all the different services they offer to make your home pest and termite free!

Thursday, April 17, 2014

PeachSkinSheets Review & Giveaway


PeachSkinSheets™ is based out of Atlanta, Georgia and features The Original Ultra-Soft Comfort Bed Sheet made from PeachSkin™ high performance fabric. We pride ourselves on being a quality company with a quality product, and going the extra mile for our customers. We know that you will LOVE sleeping on PeachSkin™ Softness!

I got a set of PeachSkin Sheets at no cost in exchange for my honest review



My Review



I am very particular when it comes to my bedding. My sheets and pillow case and blankets have to be just right. I got these new PeachSkin sheets to review and could not wait to see if I would like them. We washed them right away so we could get them right on the bed that day. I noticed as soon as we started making the bed how soft they were! They fit my over sized queen mattress with no difficulty, and actually still have a bit of play in them. It's hard to find really nice sheets with deep pockets that actually fit and stay on the bed. The flat sheet fits great also and hangs over nicely on both sides and at the bottom. I get so hot at night even with the ac on and usually have to flip my pillow a few times, and throw the sheets on and off a few times. These sheets are awesome. They don't feel like they are clinging to me at all. They feel very light and soft and I don't feel like I'm laying in a pool of sweat all night. We've washed them a few times now and they stay true to size and don't fade either. These really are some of the nicest sheets I've had. I would definitely buy a few more sets! If you're Spring Cleaning and re decorating for Spring and Summer you need to check out PeachSkin Sheets!!


Win a set of PeachSkin Sheets!!


Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Tickety Toc Spring Chicks Time DVD Review and Giveaway

*I received a copy of this DVD at no cost in exchange for my honest review


In “Spring Chicks Time”  the adorable duo, Tommy and Tallulah, celebrate the season with a town picnic, a nature hike and a kite-flying contest! When the mischievous Spring Chicks fly off in one of the kites, the town must save them just in the nick of chime time! In these fair-weather and fun-packed episodes, the Tickety Town team, along with preschool viewers, will learn the importance of teamwork, community and social responsibility.

Episodes include:

· “Spring Chicks Time”
· “Nature Trail Time”
· “Picnic Time”
· “Watermelon Time”
· “Veggie Time”
· “Bug Time”

DVD Bonus Features:

 Coloring and Activity Sheets


Our Review

We've added the newest Tickety Toc installment to our collection, and my 6 year old is thrilled! He loves Tickety Toc stories and adores the characters. This time they got coloring pages and had a blast coloring special pictures for mommy to hang on the wall. They have been learning about Spring and plants and we are getting ready to plant some things in our front yard. We also live right on the edge of a national forest here in FL and they love to go walking. This is a great addition to any collection and has some really great Spring centered episodes. If your kids love Tickety Toc as much as mine do make sure you grab this one!

To help celebrate the release of “Spring Chicks Time,” Anchor Bay has scooped-up an exciting national cross-promotion with Joy Cone. From April 1 through December 31, for $2.50 shipping & handling, consumers who purchase a Joy Cone product and any Tickety Toc DVD can receive two free Tickety Toc books from Scholastic. Color box art from the “Spring Chicks Time” DVD will be featured on 1 million boxes of Joy Cone product as part of the “tick tocktastic” promotion.


Win a copy before you buy it! If you win the DVD you also get a coupon for a free box of Joy Ice Cream Cones!


Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Scoopshot


Scoopshot is a service for selling, viewing and sharing mobile photography


Connect with other photographers across the globe through tasks and see the world through their lens. Check your app or the Scoopshot website for Tasks in your location and participate to Tasks that inspire you. Use your imagination to create amazing mobile images - best photos snap the reward.

If you witness something unusual that might be newsworthy - send it to Scoopshot! With the Scoopshot app you can both share your photos with your friends in Facebook or Twitter AND get rewarded for great shots.



The application is free and it is available for iOS, Android and Symbian with Windows phone application coming soon. Install the app and start scooping!

I don't know about you but the main reason I pay so much to have my smart phone is to take pics! I love to snap photos that I find interesting as I go about my life. This is a awesome app to have if you're a shutter bug like me!!

*Photos are my personal pictures I've taken

You can download the App below!

TRANSFORMERS ENERGON VOLUME ONE DVD!



AVAILABLE EXCLUSIVELY AT WALMART STORES ON MAY 13, 2014

FROM SHOUT! FACTORY

In 2004, TRANSFORMERS fans were introduced to the animated series TRANSFORMERS ENERGON, the second part of the rare UNICRON Trilogy – consisting of ARMADA, ENERGON and CYBERTRON. The heroic OPTIMUS PRIME, his legions of AUTOBOTS and their human friends are in search of the valuable substance Energon, which they find on Earth. A mysterious force has discovered the Energon as well and will stop at nothing to gain control all of it. It’s up to the AUTOBOTS to save the fate of mankind and planet Earth from total destruction.

On May 13, 2014, Shout! Factory, in collaboration with Hasbro Studios, will release TRANSFORMERS ENERGON VOLUME ONEDVD on family home entertainment shelves at Walmart stores. Featuring the first seven adventure-filled episodes from TRANSFORMERS ENERGON, this new DVD delivers fun-filled home entertainment that kids and parents will enjoy! Bring home TRANSFORMERS ENERGON VOLUME ONE DVD at an affordable low price of $5.97 SRP.

Look for it at Walmart on May 13th!!

Rootstix Review


Extend the life of your hair color! ROOTSTIX products were created to provide temporary color for your gray roots during that irritating time between colorings where you can start to see gray roots showing, but you don’t want to color your hair for a few more weeks.

Rootstix can also be used on men's beards and mustache's and eyebrows!

I received a Medium Brown Rootstix at no cost in exchange for an honest review


I personally am lucky enough not to have this problem yet, but my mom does have quite a bit of grey hair so she was my guinea pig for this review.


Rootstix is economical compared to other hair coloring products. With some temporary products ranging $25 or more, Rootstix is priced at $14.95 and is the size of an artist’s pen. Coloring hair is easy: place the small comb at the root of the hair, swipe with the Rootstix pen, then comb through the color. The change is instant and the color lasts up to three days. The color comes out in the wash.

“Rootstix is a pigment, so the color goes on your hair as if you were coloring it with a marker, ” says Ms. Keenan.

Available in light and medium brown and black, Rootstix will launch blond for the summer and the Company plans for a rainbow of colors within the year. Look for Rootstix in hair salons, and online at Amazon.com or learn more and purchase directly at the Rootstix website

The Review

This is a great product to have on hand between colorings. It's small and easy to use, and although it's a little hard to tell from the pics, it really does work. There's no mess, no chemical smell and it doesn't come off on your hands. It's also very quick. It can be done in the morning right along with your normal morning routine. No muss no fuss. It can go right in your purse so you can touch up your roots wherever you are. This is a very affordable alternative to home or salon colorings also. It can even be used by guys. This will cover grey in mustaches and beards too! You can even use it on eyebrows. This is a really great product! Check their links out below!

Monday, April 14, 2014

Toilet Tree Bathroom Organizer Review


ToiletTree Products designs and manufactures upscale and innovative products used in the home and bath. We are a family owned company with a silly name and intelligent products.

I received the Bathroom Organizer - Toothbrush and Toothpaste Holder with Drinking Cup at no cost in exchange for my honest review.


I got the Red one. It also comes in Blue, Green and Clear and comes in single and double size.

My Review

I have had several Toilet Tree products in the past and I am always impressed with their designs and quality. This Bathroom Organizer did not disappoint. This is a cute, fun and functional product that will look great in any bathroom. This is all plastic which makes it very easy to keep clean, and it won't break if my kids knock it over or drop the cups. It hold several toothbrushes and has 2 cups, because they won't share anything of course lol. I love this because it keeps everything together nicely and my counter isn't cluttered. It keeps the toothbrushes up off the counter and clean. I've had to throw many toothbrushes away because they've been knocked over on the floor, in the toilet and the trash. I got the double because we need a bigger one. but this also comes in a single size and in 3 other colors. This is a necessity for any bathroom and Toilet Tree is the brand to go with for items like this! Check them out!

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Poetic Justice Jeans Review

Poetic Justice Jeans are specifically designed to FIT YOUR SHAPE.

The collection contains multiple trendy fashion styles as well as classy basics that can be easily transformed from day to night outfits. Variety of skinny, cropped, boyfriend and boot cut jeans will give you the possibility to choose your perfect jean.

Our jeans are designed in USA, so the fit was created precisely. Hours of fitting made our jeans fit as a glove. An exceptional quality along with an excellent fit makes this line a winner. Each and every style will highlight your curves tastefully. Poetic Justice Jeans are flattering, great recovery bottoms. All fabrics are chosen with curvy shape in mind. You will never need your belt again. 

The size scale caters to as many women as possible - majority of styles are available in regular sizes 26 - 32 and plus sizes 16-20. Size Chart and Fitting Guide will help you to navigate fast and effortlessly.

I got to pick a pair of Poetic Justice Jeans at no cost to me in exchange for my honest review


There’s something classy and chic about loose layers, right? So why not apply this look with our jeans. Drum roll please: Introducing the boyfriend jeans. One of the biggest fashion trends is the juxtaposition of masculinity and femininity. For example, the biggest hit on the runway is the whole androgynous look. Mixing bold with simple, colors with neutrals, and now strength with classy. Yet, jumping in headfirst and going for the look right off the runway is sometimes too overwhelming and drastic. No problem here. Go for the lighter end of this trending look and get these jeans.

*Picture from website, NOT me*

My Review

*This is me in the jeans, not looking nearly as good as the model lol. It's blurry because no one can take pictures as good as I do lol*

My Review

So as stated, I'm not a model, and these jeans don't fit me like they do the model lol. I have the hardest time shopping for jeans, I cannot even tell you how frustrating it is! My health issues cause my weight to fluctuate, sometimes dramatically, throughout the year. Sometimes I actually have curves, other times not so much. In this picture, not so much lol. However, I LOVE these jeans! These are true to size from what I sized on the website. The material is very soft and comfortable! I washed them and they didn't shrink that I noticed. No matter if my weight is up or down these jeans are awesome! My hips are bigger than my waist so I usually have to deal with a gap in the waist. It's uncomfortable and not very cute looking. With these Skinny Boyfriend Jeans there is no gap, and my hips have room to move. I can roll them up a bit to make them more like Capris, and unroll them to make them pants for work or a night out. These are very versatile. I have finally found a brand of jean that really works for me! If you have trouble finding great jeans like I do you need to check out Poetic Justice!

Interview with designer Kalia Kirby

1.    What does fashion mean to you?      

          It means Everything! Especially designing. I absolutely love the process of seeing my sketch graduate to actual garments.

2.    What was the first article of clothing you ever designed?      

          My first  article was a muslin shift dress with darts. It's was the most basic thing ever.

3.    What do you believe makes a quality article of clothing? 

          For me, quality embodies fabric and sewing technique. You can't have one without the other.

4.    What do you like best and dislike most about designing clothes? 

          What I love most about designing is being able to use any and everything around me for inspiration. I can't say that I dislike anything about designing.

5.    Where do you get your inspiration? 

          I pull inspiration from everywhere especially when it comes to color and silhouette.

6.    Where can readers find out more about you and your work?        

          I'll be creating a blog shortly to show the day and life of Kalia Kirby - Calloway and what's it's like to be a designer. In the meantime I try to tell the story if my design journey through my Instagram @behinthescenes

7.    What are some of your favorite fashion websites, magazines, or books? 

          I love browsing random fashion Instagrams and looking at the pages of vogue, Elle, and Lucky.  Polyvore and Style.com are also great fashion resources.


 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
UA-29785896-1