Monday, September 1, 2014

Earthman Jack Vs. The Ghost Planet Review


Jack Finnegan only has to worry about dealing with school bullies, suffering through detention with his homeroom teacher, and getting noticed by the girl of his dreams… at least until an army of evil aliens invade Earth. Suddenly, this teenage slacker finds himself at the center of a galaxy-spanning conflict – where the lives of everyone on the planet are in jeopardy, soldiers use Quantum Physics to become superheroes, and the enemy uses some mysterious form of magic to make themselves practically unstoppable. The secret to ending the conflict and saving the universe may lie in a powerful ancient spaceship, which it seems can only be flown by Earthmen. Now, Jack and a rag-tag group of allies must overcome impossible odds, defeat an unkillable enemy, rescue the princess of the galaxy, and save the universe from a threat more terrifying than any it has ever faced. Can this underachiever rise to the occasion and become the hero Earth needs? The fate of all life in the galaxy may rest in his hands.

I received a paperback copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I will be honest, when I received this book in the mail and saw the size of it, 665 pages, I was quite intimidated! It took me awhile to pick this up and start reading, but when I did, I was so glad I did! I wasn't sure what this was going to be, if it would be a childish spaceship and alien science fiction, or more geared to what I think of as realistic science fiction. It's just a perfect blend of the two in my opinion. Some of the characters are described in ways that I know my 6 and 9 year old would love, and some are a little more serious for the older reader. This is a heavy book, and my son is an advanced reader, but he kind of balked at this one. I read most of it, and some of it we read together and I told him about the rest. I have set this book aside for him for when he's ready for it. The settings and the characters are described in such detail that you feel like you are part of the adventure with Jack and all the supporting characters. I cheered when they won a victory and got mad when they were thwarted by the evil villain aliens. This story has everything, a princess in need of rescue, aliens, spaceships, pirates and a human hero. For being such a long book this was a remarkably fast read, I couldn't put it down once I started. If you are any type of science fiction fan you want to read this book! 

About the Author

Matthew Kadish is an independent author and world-recognized evil genius. When he isn't writing or being evil, he enjoys relaxing at the beach and videos of puppies. He is the author of the Earthman Jack Space Saga and the Cathouse Series.

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Veev Spirits Review


In 2012 VitaFrute™ Cocktails by VEEV® was launched as the first line of organic and all-natural super fruit ready-to-drink premium products under 125 calories per serving and that taste great, naturally. The newest addition to VitaFrute™ Cocktails by VEEV®, Coconut Colada joins the array of flavors including Margarita, Lemonade and Cosmopolitan. In July 2014 VEEV® Spirits unveiled VEEV® 2.0 with its reformulation from 60 to 70 proof and new positioning as the better alternative to Vodka. For more information, visit VEEVlife.com and Facebook.com/VEEV, or follow @VEEV on Twitter and @VEEV on Instagram. A Better Way to Drink™.


We received one of each flavor at no cost in exchange for our honest review.



Our Review

I am a "girly" drinker. I like drinks that are a bit sweet and I really like fruity flavors. I was offered the chance to try these new Veev cocktails and couldn't wait to see if I would like them. I don't really drink anything Coconut so my hubby got to try that one. He really liked it, and he doesn't usually drink any type of mixed drinks. I took a sip, and as much as coconut is not my favorite, this cocktail was really good. The Cosmopolitan had a great fruity flavor also, that was my favorite one I think. These are light and sweet, but not too sweet. There's no after taste either. These come in 4 different flavors so there's something everyone will like. These are good cold out of the refrigerator or over ice. These are very affordable so they are a great drink for get togethers and parties. The Veev cocktails have screw on lids so there's no need for corkscrews so these travel easily also. These are great light and sweet summery drinks that anyone can enjoy!

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Victoria Amory Condiment Review


A collection of all-natural condiments like mayonnaise, ketchup and piri piri sauces created to elevate your everyday meals to everyday feasts!


I received the Champagne Ketchup, the Classic Lemon Mayonnaise, and the Green Chile Piri Piri at no cost in exchange for our honest review.


Our Review

My husband the foodie couldn't wait to try these new creations. My kids eat a lot of plain ketchup on all kinds of things and it gets a bit boring for us to say the least. The Champagne Ketchup and Classic Lemon Mayonnaise were a great addition to the other condiments we already use. The flavoring of the mayonnaise was just enough to add that extra taste to a sandwich and make it not so bland. My husband liked the hint of lemon when he made his ham and cheese sandwiches and he used this to make tuna one day too and said it was really good. The champagne ketchup was also really good. It had a nice "grown up" taste to it and was a nice change from plain jane ketchup. If you like to add some unique and delicious flavors to your foods you should definitely check out these new condiments!

Friday, August 29, 2014

Great Summer Substitutes



Five Great Burger Substitutes for the Summer Grill

From shish kebabs to baby back ribs, there is no doubt that meats loom large in the summer barbeque line-up. However, current research seems to suggest that meats--and red meats in particular--may cause significant health issues ranging from increased weight gain and heart and cardiovascular diseases to decreased immunity and even certain forms of cancer. Luckily there are a wide variety of modern meatless products and natural veggie-based options that make for excellent outdoor grilling--whether you like tangy barbeque, sour-sweet teriyaki, or a just a classic-style burger dressed with ketchup, mustard and mayo.

Portabella Mushroom Caps

With their firm, meaty texture and naturally smoky flavor portabellas shine on the summer stage. Each full-sized portabella cap can be marinated, rubbed, or slathered in your favorite barbeque sauce and grilled up as easily as a burger--and these mushrooms taste amazing paired with havarti, gouda, or pepper jack. For a full vegan grill, try making a simple dill aioli using silken tofu or consider a nice vinegary homemade relish.

Grilled Eggplant Patties 

Even those who are not partial to this odd vegetable may be pleasantly surprised by the rich flavor brought out when eggplant is properly grilled. As with portabellas, eggplant can be grilled simply, or dressed up with a marinade or sauce. Be sure to salt and rinse eggplant before grilling, in order to get rid of any bitter flavor. Eggplant is naturally porous, so it can easily soak up the rich flavors of Asian-inspired marinades--delicious topped simply with some grilled pineapple.


In addition to giving you a full dose of heart-healthy proteins, black bean veggie burgers bring a welcome change of pace to the back yard barbecue. Perfect for super-quick grilling, these bean-based burgers are superb when dressed up with Tex-Mex toppings like sliced avocado, cheddar or jack cheese, salsa, sour cream, or grilled veggies.

Meatless Beef-Style Burgers

Recent years have seen an explosion of meatless products that are getting better and better at filling in for true beef burgers. Made from ultra-refined soy proteins, meatless burgers provide plenty of protein without the extra saturated fats and potential cancer-causing compounds found in red meat patties. Unlike black bean and other veggie burgers, these soy-based burgers are meant to approximate the texture and flavor of meat--so feel free to serve them with all your favorite classic burger fixings.

Extra-Firm Tofu Steaks

Like eggplant, extra-firm tofu makes an excellent marinated grill item. Highly porous, tofu will soak up anything flavor combination you can think of. Before marinating make sure to thoroughly squeeze and drain tofu blocks so that there is plenty of room for marinade ingredients to soak in. In addition to simple sweet and sour soy-sauce marinades, you might want to consider a savory pesto or balsamic-based marinade--paired with fresh mozzarella and ripe red tomatoes.

Meat-Free Menus Made Easy

With vegetarianism and veganism on the rise, plant-based foods are gaining huge popularity--even among those who still eat meat fairly regularly. The wide variety of unique produce products and meatless meats available in today's grocery isles makes it easy to please everyone on the guest list--without compromising on flavor or flair.

Online Health Informatics Degree



Meaningful implementation of electronic health records (HER) has been set by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) in 2011. At that point, criteria for computerized management of medical information was implemented with the intent of having all health care centers up to compliance within three years of the particular institution's entry into altering their record-keeping system.

This widespread implementation of computers and technology in health care has opened up a whole field of employment in health care. A Master of Science in Healthcare Informatics (MSHI) has become a valuable addition to the resumes of individuals in health care. Because this type of degree can be acquired online, individuals are able to maintain employment and earn credentials at the same time.

The online health informatics degree leads to an increase in employability for health care professionals. The Bureau of Labor Statistics has estimated that the number of jobs in this field will increase by 21 percent by the year 2020. In the current slump relating to jobs, this is encouraging.

Individuals with clinical experience are welcomed in the field as are non-clinical practitioners such as those in IT and business. Although IT knowledge is useful, this is not the main thrust of this type of degree. Health informatics is a combination of management of the health care environment and technology.

With the acquisition of a MHSI, individuals become professionals with expertise in leadership, management and health care informatics. They are able to make connections among the components of healthcare and IT as well as develop the capability of working on interdisciplinary teams in health care. Management of hospitals, doctor's offices and care facilities all will need the expertise of someone trained in the growing field of electronic health record management.

According to Rajiv Leventhal in Healthcare Informatics on August 22, 2014, "Ninety-six percent of federally-funded health centers have an electronic health record (EHR) in use at some or all sites," which indicates the wide variety of positions and uses that can be made of a MSHI in many areas. Consider adding this degree to your variety of experiences to help maintain employability and relevance in your field.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Collage.com



Create a professional photo book with a single click using Collage.com's One-Click Photo Book. Select photos of any size from Facebook, Instagram, Flickr, or your computer and they will instantly suggest a clean, professional layout that you can further customize.

 Use this link for 51% off a 20-page 11.5"x8" Hardcover Photo Book From Collage.com



Wednesday, August 27, 2014

No Time To Die Review


In a Washington, D.C. research lab, a brilliant scientist is attacked by his own test subjects. At Columbia University, a talented biochemist is lured out of her apartment and never seen again. In the Justice Department's new Bioethics Committee, agent Les Mahler sees a sinister pattern emerging. . .

Zoe Kincaid is a petite college student whose rare genetic makeup may hold the key to a powerful medical breakthrough. When she is kidnapped, the very thing mankind has wanted since the dawn of time threatens to unleash our final destruction.

I received a paperback copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

My Review

I was blown away by this book! I love the legal and medical mystery genre and this one is now at the top of my list! This book starts strong and doesn't stop until the very last page. I read this entire book in 3 days, and that was with me working and still taking care of my boys and house. I could not put this book down. The premise of the book is original and thought provoking. What if you could not age? Everyone wants the fountain of youth, but have you ever thought about the flip side of that coin? Never maturing, no puberty, no children, and always being thought of as a child. Sometimes you have to be careful what you wish for. This story was a thrilling, page turning read with so many twists and turns that you are never quite sure what is coming next. There is a lot of cutting edge science mixed with the thrills and suspense, and the blend of the two is just right. I am a serious new fan of Kira Peikoff! Check her and her books out at the links below!

About the Author

Kira Peikoff is a writer based in New York City. She graduated with high honors from New York University in 2007 with a degree in journalism, after four years of various reporting internships: covering street crime for The Daily News, writing about Capitol Hill for The Orange County Register in Washington, D.C., reporting on business and technology for Newsday, and researching feature stories for New York magazine.

To fulfill her longtime dream of writing a novel, she then spent a year exclusively working on LIVING PROOF. The story was inspired by her experience reporting from the White House in the summer of 2006, as she watched President Bush announce the first veto of his presidency to deny federal funding for embryonic stem cell research. Peikoff’s passionate feelings about what many people view as a controversy of morality vs. science–one with potentially life-or-death stakes–led to the central conflict in LIVING PROOF.

After completing that book, Peikoff worked for several years in the editorial departments at two NYC publishing houses, which gave her an invaluable inside look at the publishing process and the rapidly changing industry. 

NO TIME TO DIE, her second novel, will be published by Kensington on Sept. 2, 2014. These days, Peikoff is working on her third thriller, freelancing for a variety of major media outlets, and attending Columbia University's Master of Science program in Bioethics. She lives in New York City with her husband and dog.

Follow the Author!


Buy the Book!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Dream Killers

Dreamkillersbanner1

DK S1 Covers

The Sea of Dreams spat me out with no memories, no idea of who I was or what my purpose might be. When Captain Bo, dream killer extraordinaire, arrived, I took a chance to explore. On the road of discovery, I tripped upon dreamplanes floating dead in a graveyard, scared children attempting to survive their dreams turned nightmare, strange guardians, rogue Dreamlanders, and ships with hearts of silver. I learned more about Dreamland than I ever thought possible. But people are dying. They're disappearing. Dreamland is twisting, shifting, ripping. I don't know how best to help, how to save those I've met, who have wormed their way into my heart. If only I knew who I was, what I'd been born to do. Then I found out. I know who I am. I wish I didn't. Dream Killers is geared for fans of Once Upon a Time. The first season (Spring 2014) consists of 3 novellas called episodes. It follows River as he discovers who he is and his role in Dreamland. Dream Killers is to Dreamland Stories what Agents of Shield is to the Marvel movies. Dreamland is an intense, rich, fascinating world with lots going on. If you like fairy tales, are looking for something new,try this one.

Review

This 3 novella collection was a very fun read. The imagination of the author puts vividly painted pictures in the readers head. The storline is intriguing and grabs your attention and keeps it for all 3 novellas. Each story is very different, but also connected in a mysterious way. The characters come across very real, with many flaws that make you feel like you really know them, from the ones you like most, to the ones that scare you the most. Questions abound on the adventures througouth the tales with the main character River, and nothing is given before it needs to be. This is a beautiful, other wordly tale that will let you escape from real life for awhile and enjoy another world. I loved these books and can't wait to see what comes next from this author!

Follow SMBlooding

Facebook /Twitter /Pinterest /Goodreads /Newsletter

Meet the Author:


SM “Frankie” Blooding lives in Colorado with her pet rock, Rockie, and Jack the Bird. Jack has refused to let her to take up the piano again, but is warming to the guitar. It might help that Frankie has learned more than two strings. She’s added a few more Arabic words to her vocabulary, but don’t invite her into conversation yet—unless, of course, you’re willing to have a very . . . slow . . . conversation. She’s dated vampires, werewolves, sorcerers, weapons smugglers and US Government assassins. Yes. She has stories. She’s also an investigator with a local paranormal investigation group, Colorado Paranormal Rescue!

 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Capital City for iOS and Android


About Torn Screen Entertainment, Inc.

Torn Screen Entertainment, Inc. uses innovative technologies and FUN to deliver personal finance lessons players can use in real life. Established in 2013, Torn Screen has enjoyed success with its previous release, CASHFLOW: The Investing Game, which launched in the number one position.

Capital City is FOR SALE – every beauty parlor and burger joint; every coffee shop and car wash; every fourplex and fixer-upper – EVERYTHING is FOR SALE! The challenge is you have to buy the RIGHT houses, apartments and businesses before your opponents do! Invite up to five friends, choose from one of 11 over-the-top vehicles, and get ready to make some fast deals! Just like in real life, not every deal is a good one. Make the right deals, become a MOGUL and escape from Supercorp – or – make the wrong deals, go BANKRUPT… and go back to your day job.

Quick, strategic thinking and a knack for managing your money are all you need to conquer Capital City!


Get the game!

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Everyday Kitchen Nut Milk Bag Review


Discover the Premium Nylon Nut Milk Bag that can be used over and over — and will produce nut milk to die for!

I received a Nut Milk Bag at no cost in exchange for my honest review.


Review

This is a great mesh bag with so many different uses. It cleans easily and doesn't stain. We have only used it a few times but I know this will come in handy for so many things. We have used this to strain pulp from orange juice for my youngest. My husband and 9 year old like the pulp and me and my 6 year old do not. Orange juice can be quite expensive so we buy the kind with pulp and then strain it for me and my little. This was very easy to use and didn't create a big mess to clean up. The bag didn't stain from the juice, and dried quickly with no remaining dampness or moldy smell. This is a great product and I recommend it for anyone looking to get into juicing and eating and drinking healthier. There are endless uses!