Friday, August 29, 2014

Great Summer Substitutes



Five Great Burger Substitutes for the Summer Grill

From shish kebabs to baby back ribs, there is no doubt that meats loom large in the summer barbeque line-up. However, current research seems to suggest that meats--and red meats in particular--may cause significant health issues ranging from increased weight gain and heart and cardiovascular diseases to decreased immunity and even certain forms of cancer. Luckily there are a wide variety of modern meatless products and natural veggie-based options that make for excellent outdoor grilling--whether you like tangy barbeque, sour-sweet teriyaki, or a just a classic-style burger dressed with ketchup, mustard and mayo.

Portabella Mushroom Caps

With their firm, meaty texture and naturally smoky flavor portabellas shine on the summer stage. Each full-sized portabella cap can be marinated, rubbed, or slathered in your favorite barbeque sauce and grilled up as easily as a burger--and these mushrooms taste amazing paired with havarti, gouda, or pepper jack. For a full vegan grill, try making a simple dill aioli using silken tofu or consider a nice vinegary homemade relish.

Grilled Eggplant Patties 

Even those who are not partial to this odd vegetable may be pleasantly surprised by the rich flavor brought out when eggplant is properly grilled. As with portabellas, eggplant can be grilled simply, or dressed up with a marinade or sauce. Be sure to salt and rinse eggplant before grilling, in order to get rid of any bitter flavor. Eggplant is naturally porous, so it can easily soak up the rich flavors of Asian-inspired marinades--delicious topped simply with some grilled pineapple.


In addition to giving you a full dose of heart-healthy proteins, black bean veggie burgers bring a welcome change of pace to the back yard barbecue. Perfect for super-quick grilling, these bean-based burgers are superb when dressed up with Tex-Mex toppings like sliced avocado, cheddar or jack cheese, salsa, sour cream, or grilled veggies.

Meatless Beef-Style Burgers

Recent years have seen an explosion of meatless products that are getting better and better at filling in for true beef burgers. Made from ultra-refined soy proteins, meatless burgers provide plenty of protein without the extra saturated fats and potential cancer-causing compounds found in red meat patties. Unlike black bean and other veggie burgers, these soy-based burgers are meant to approximate the texture and flavor of meat--so feel free to serve them with all your favorite classic burger fixings.

Extra-Firm Tofu Steaks

Like eggplant, extra-firm tofu makes an excellent marinated grill item. Highly porous, tofu will soak up anything flavor combination you can think of. Before marinating make sure to thoroughly squeeze and drain tofu blocks so that there is plenty of room for marinade ingredients to soak in. In addition to simple sweet and sour soy-sauce marinades, you might want to consider a savory pesto or balsamic-based marinade--paired with fresh mozzarella and ripe red tomatoes.

Meat-Free Menus Made Easy

With vegetarianism and veganism on the rise, plant-based foods are gaining huge popularity--even among those who still eat meat fairly regularly. The wide variety of unique produce products and meatless meats available in today's grocery isles makes it easy to please everyone on the guest list--without compromising on flavor or flair.

Online Health Informatics Degree



Meaningful implementation of electronic health records (HER) has been set by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) in 2011. At that point, criteria for computerized management of medical information was implemented with the intent of having all health care centers up to compliance within three years of the particular institution's entry into altering their record-keeping system.

This widespread implementation of computers and technology in health care has opened up a whole field of employment in health care. A Master of Science in Healthcare Informatics (MSHI) has become a valuable addition to the resumes of individuals in health care. Because this type of degree can be acquired online, individuals are able to maintain employment and earn credentials at the same time.

The online health informatics degree leads to an increase in employability for health care professionals. The Bureau of Labor Statistics has estimated that the number of jobs in this field will increase by 21 percent by the year 2020. In the current slump relating to jobs, this is encouraging.

Individuals with clinical experience are welcomed in the field as are non-clinical practitioners such as those in IT and business. Although IT knowledge is useful, this is not the main thrust of this type of degree. Health informatics is a combination of management of the health care environment and technology.

With the acquisition of a MHSI, individuals become professionals with expertise in leadership, management and health care informatics. They are able to make connections among the components of healthcare and IT as well as develop the capability of working on interdisciplinary teams in health care. Management of hospitals, doctor's offices and care facilities all will need the expertise of someone trained in the growing field of electronic health record management.

According to Rajiv Leventhal in Healthcare Informatics on August 22, 2014, "Ninety-six percent of federally-funded health centers have an electronic health record (EHR) in use at some or all sites," which indicates the wide variety of positions and uses that can be made of a MSHI in many areas. Consider adding this degree to your variety of experiences to help maintain employability and relevance in your field.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Collage.com



Create a professional photo book with a single click using Collage.com's One-Click Photo Book. Select photos of any size from Facebook, Instagram, Flickr, or your computer and they will instantly suggest a clean, professional layout that you can further customize.

 Use this link for 51% off a 20-page 11.5"x8" Hardcover Photo Book From Collage.com



Wednesday, August 27, 2014

No Time To Die Review


In a Washington, D.C. research lab, a brilliant scientist is attacked by his own test subjects. At Columbia University, a talented biochemist is lured out of her apartment and never seen again. In the Justice Department's new Bioethics Committee, agent Les Mahler sees a sinister pattern emerging. . .

Zoe Kincaid is a petite college student whose rare genetic makeup may hold the key to a powerful medical breakthrough. When she is kidnapped, the very thing mankind has wanted since the dawn of time threatens to unleash our final destruction.

I received a paperback copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

My Review

I was blown away by this book! I love the legal and medical mystery genre and this one is now at the top of my list! This book starts strong and doesn't stop until the very last page. I read this entire book in 3 days, and that was with me working and still taking care of my boys and house. I could not put this book down. The premise of the book is original and thought provoking. What if you could not age? Everyone wants the fountain of youth, but have you ever thought about the flip side of that coin? Never maturing, no puberty, no children, and always being thought of as a child. Sometimes you have to be careful what you wish for. This story was a thrilling, page turning read with so many twists and turns that you are never quite sure what is coming next. There is a lot of cutting edge science mixed with the thrills and suspense, and the blend of the two is just right. I am a serious new fan of Kira Peikoff! Check her and her books out at the links below!

About the Author

Kira Peikoff is a writer based in New York City. She graduated with high honors from New York University in 2007 with a degree in journalism, after four years of various reporting internships: covering street crime for The Daily News, writing about Capitol Hill for The Orange County Register in Washington, D.C., reporting on business and technology for Newsday, and researching feature stories for New York magazine.

To fulfill her longtime dream of writing a novel, she then spent a year exclusively working on LIVING PROOF. The story was inspired by her experience reporting from the White House in the summer of 2006, as she watched President Bush announce the first veto of his presidency to deny federal funding for embryonic stem cell research. Peikoff’s passionate feelings about what many people view as a controversy of morality vs. science–one with potentially life-or-death stakes–led to the central conflict in LIVING PROOF.

After completing that book, Peikoff worked for several years in the editorial departments at two NYC publishing houses, which gave her an invaluable inside look at the publishing process and the rapidly changing industry. 

NO TIME TO DIE, her second novel, will be published by Kensington on Sept. 2, 2014. These days, Peikoff is working on her third thriller, freelancing for a variety of major media outlets, and attending Columbia University's Master of Science program in Bioethics. She lives in New York City with her husband and dog.

Follow the Author!


Buy the Book!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Dream Killers

Dreamkillersbanner1

DK S1 Covers

The Sea of Dreams spat me out with no memories, no idea of who I was or what my purpose might be. When Captain Bo, dream killer extraordinaire, arrived, I took a chance to explore. On the road of discovery, I tripped upon dreamplanes floating dead in a graveyard, scared children attempting to survive their dreams turned nightmare, strange guardians, rogue Dreamlanders, and ships with hearts of silver. I learned more about Dreamland than I ever thought possible. But people are dying. They're disappearing. Dreamland is twisting, shifting, ripping. I don't know how best to help, how to save those I've met, who have wormed their way into my heart. If only I knew who I was, what I'd been born to do. Then I found out. I know who I am. I wish I didn't. Dream Killers is geared for fans of Once Upon a Time. The first season (Spring 2014) consists of 3 novellas called episodes. It follows River as he discovers who he is and his role in Dreamland. Dream Killers is to Dreamland Stories what Agents of Shield is to the Marvel movies. Dreamland is an intense, rich, fascinating world with lots going on. If you like fairy tales, are looking for something new,try this one.

Review

This 3 novella collection was a very fun read. The imagination of the author puts vividly painted pictures in the readers head. The storline is intriguing and grabs your attention and keeps it for all 3 novellas. Each story is very different, but also connected in a mysterious way. The characters come across very real, with many flaws that make you feel like you really know them, from the ones you like most, to the ones that scare you the most. Questions abound on the adventures througouth the tales with the main character River, and nothing is given before it needs to be. This is a beautiful, other wordly tale that will let you escape from real life for awhile and enjoy another world. I loved these books and can't wait to see what comes next from this author!

Follow SMBlooding

Facebook /Twitter /Pinterest /Goodreads /Newsletter

Meet the Author:


SM “Frankie” Blooding lives in Colorado with her pet rock, Rockie, and Jack the Bird. Jack has refused to let her to take up the piano again, but is warming to the guitar. It might help that Frankie has learned more than two strings. She’s added a few more Arabic words to her vocabulary, but don’t invite her into conversation yet—unless, of course, you’re willing to have a very . . . slow . . . conversation. She’s dated vampires, werewolves, sorcerers, weapons smugglers and US Government assassins. Yes. She has stories. She’s also an investigator with a local paranormal investigation group, Colorado Paranormal Rescue!

 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Capital City for iOS and Android


About Torn Screen Entertainment, Inc.

Torn Screen Entertainment, Inc. uses innovative technologies and FUN to deliver personal finance lessons players can use in real life. Established in 2013, Torn Screen has enjoyed success with its previous release, CASHFLOW: The Investing Game, which launched in the number one position.

Capital City is FOR SALE – every beauty parlor and burger joint; every coffee shop and car wash; every fourplex and fixer-upper – EVERYTHING is FOR SALE! The challenge is you have to buy the RIGHT houses, apartments and businesses before your opponents do! Invite up to five friends, choose from one of 11 over-the-top vehicles, and get ready to make some fast deals! Just like in real life, not every deal is a good one. Make the right deals, become a MOGUL and escape from Supercorp – or – make the wrong deals, go BANKRUPT… and go back to your day job.

Quick, strategic thinking and a knack for managing your money are all you need to conquer Capital City!


Get the game!

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Everyday Kitchen Nut Milk Bag Review


Discover the Premium Nylon Nut Milk Bag that can be used over and over — and will produce nut milk to die for!

I received a Nut Milk Bag at no cost in exchange for my honest review.


Review

This is a great mesh bag with so many different uses. It cleans easily and doesn't stain. We have only used it a few times but I know this will come in handy for so many things. We have used this to strain pulp from orange juice for my youngest. My husband and 9 year old like the pulp and me and my 6 year old do not. Orange juice can be quite expensive so we buy the kind with pulp and then strain it for me and my little. This was very easy to use and didn't create a big mess to clean up. The bag didn't stain from the juice, and dried quickly with no remaining dampness or moldy smell. This is a great product and I recommend it for anyone looking to get into juicing and eating and drinking healthier. There are endless uses!

Saturday, August 23, 2014

iGotTech Magnetic Screen Door Review


At iGotTech, we are a bunch of guys that like to think we can provide better solutions to everyday life. Being on the cutting-edge of technology is important to us all, but we also appreciate simplicity.

iGotTech launched its first product this summer - #1 Best Selling Screen Door. Our company is proud to provide the highest-quality mesh fabric available on the marketplace to date. 




The ENTIRE FRAME of iGotTech's #1 Best Screen is lined with reinforced velcro. NO OTHER screen door offers this. With super-duty velcro around EVERY inch along the top and both sides, and additional support nails included, there's NO chance of this screen falling down, and NO chance of bugs.

Our Review

We have just moved into a new house last year and haven't gotten everything we need or want for the house yet. One thing we have been missing is a screen door. They are expensive and heavy and a pain to install. We got this magnetic screen door from iGotTech to try. This screen door is a great alternative to a regular screen door. It installs easily, my husband did it in about 20 minutes. The screen keeps bugs and little critter out but the mesh still allows plenty of air through, and it's easy to maneuver to go in and out. My boys like to run in and out like little tasmanian devils so I was worried they would cause it to fall down. That didn't happen though. This magnetic screen door has held up against all four of us going in and out numerous times a day and shows no wear.



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Friday, August 22, 2014

Dot&Bo Review

We love everything about decorating a home, from dreaming up big ideas to choosing the finishing touches. It’s exhilarating! And we’re thrilled to share the experience with you. This is what drives us to curate new collections every day, filled with beautiful hand-picked items from around the world. We like products that tell great stories, and we put them together in inventive ways to inspire and entertain you. Because shopping for your home should never feel like a chore.

I received a product from Dot&Bo at no cost in exchange for my honest opinion.





My Review

I love finding sites like Dot&Bo. I like to decorate my house with useful, unique and cute items. This 3 Flip Hook fits my criteria perfectly. It's cute, unobtrusive and very useful. We can hang our keys, my work badge, the boys small umbrellas and many other items on this so everything is handy when we need it. There are so many different uses for this. This is a solid wood piece, and the hooks are sturdy. This could be used for jackets, hats and so much more. The colors are cute and bright and the light colored wood matches almost everything. We have this on the wall where our front door is so as soon as we walk in we can hang our keys and stuff and not lose them. This would work great in a kids bedroom also. This is a very versatile decorative item. Check out Dot&Bo and see all the amazing items they have to offer!

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Vista Vapors Review


The most affordable and best tasting ejuice. Made in the USA and over 140 flavors, we are sure we have something for everyone!


We received 3 flavors of ejuice, 12mg nicotine and no boost. We received Cola, Blood Orange and Blueberry Muffin.


Our Review

My husband and I made the switch to Vaping from smoking back in June. We have been trying out different e liquids for our vape pens to see which ones we like and which ones really work well for us. I got these 3 flavors from Vista Vapors with 12 mg nicotine level. These are 17 ml bottles which is a nice size that will last quite a while, even with both of us using them. The flavors are nice and strong and you can taste the flavor with every vape. My husband has been using the Blueberry Muffin, I don't really like Blueberry so he can have that one. I really enjoy the Blood Orange and the Cola ones. The flavors are just sweet enough, without being over powering. There is an option to add Boost, which is like an extra hit of whatever flavor you choose if you like it to be very strong. I have tried several different e liquids since we started and these are definitely at the top of the list of ones we would buy again. You can choose your nicotine level to what you need and are used to. They offer 0,6,12,18 and 24 mg levels. If you want to learn more about Vaping and Vista Vapors click the links below!