Blogroll

Follow by Email

Search

SammyDress Review

Featured Post

Micro Mink Sherpa Blanket Review

SpazeApparel.com is your one-stop-shop for basic American clothing for every-one. Our collection of blank garment is from most renowned...

Dresses

Driven Coffee Roasters

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Wipenote Review



Whether You are a graphic artist, architect, designer, musician or simply a "tree hugger"- stay flexible with your needs of      managing information, ideas and sketches. And it lasts forever. Just wipe it and start again. Ask your kids,they know that.

    Award-winning, original artwork cover art to enjoy
 Ring binding allows for relocation of pages within seconds
 Buy additional pages online- Grid,Lines,Blank
     Buy additional markers online
  More pages than competitors (50 instead of the regular 40) 
 Only takes seconds for ink to dry
  Safely place hands over work without smudging
    Wipe away with a damp towel or whiteboard  spray cleaner
    Feel good by saving trees


I received 2 Wipenote notebooks at no cost in exchange for an honest review.


My Review

I am a pen and paper addict. I have tons of different pads of paper, notebooks and pens. I love to use sticky notes and make reminder lists. I do admit I feel bad sometimes for wasting so much paper though. These dry erase notebooks are the coolest things I have seen in a very long time. These are very well put together and don't feel like they will fall apart easily. The notebooks are the perfect size for home and office, and the smaller one fits nicely in my purse for making notes on the go. These come with dry erase markers, but you can use any dry erase color you want, and the pages easily wipe clean so you can use these a million times over and over. The designs on the cover are beautiful to look at and are eye catching. The covers make these feel more sophisticated than carrying around a plain old note pad. I love these notebooks and would definitely buy more!

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

In Pursuit Book Review and Giveaway




NEW RELEASE....



The hunt is on…but who’s the one being pursued? 


A serial killer is terrorizing San Antonio, and the method of murder is beyond macabre. As Ivy Nash is pulled into the case by her police detective friend, Stan, there appears to be one intersecting point between the victims—Ivy herself.

Meanwhile, Ivy and her new organization, ECHO, take on a case for a run-away teen whose parents have disappeared. Was it self-imposed, or is something more nefarious going on?

Moving at a break-neck pace, the parallel trails to stop the killer and to find the missing parents seem both murky and crystal clear. But just as Ivy believes the end is near, past transgressions are slammed in her face—and nothing will be the same.

A man wants retribution. And he’ll even saw off his own leg if it means Ivy will suffer.

My Review

In Pursuit was an incredible roller coaster ride of suspense and horror. I am very good at guessing villains and endings, but this book kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end, and left me wanting to read more right away. Ivy Nash is strong, well developed main character who really pulls the reader in. I was up late into the night with this book for several nights in a row because I just could not put it down. The plot and scene descriptions were intense and put a very clear picture of the story in the readers head. I have already purchased the next book because I cannot wait to see what Ivy gets into next!

Available to buy from....
Amazon.com   Amazon.co.uk   Barnes and Noble    iBooks   Kobo   Paperback

"Rife with deceit and deception and characters that leap off the page, this story is told with confidence through a sure hand, engaging both the mind and the heart. A compelling treat." -- Steve Berry, New York Times Bestselling Author

"I love the way that Mefford writes, seamlessly jumping between characters and time frames with no confusion, and he is extremely descriptive of the setting . You almost feel like you are watching a movie instead of reading a book!" -- Hilary Mahoney, Elusive Red Tiger

"Mefford wrote her character with depth and you can feel her passion for her job throughout the entire book." -- Shelly Maynard, Lynchburg Mama

Above reviews from An Ivy Nash Thriller, Book 1, IN Defiance

Books in the Alex Troutt Thriller Series:
AT Bay AT Large
AT Once
AT Dawn
AT Dusk
AT Last

 
Books in the Ivy Nash Thriller Series:
IN Defiance
IN Pursuit
Coming soon....
IN Doubt
Break IN
IN Control
IN The End

Q&A with author John W. Mefford: 
Q: What do the Ivy Nash Thrillers have to do with the Redemption Thriller Series?

JWM: The Ivy Nash Thrillers comprise the second sub-series in the Redemption Thriller Series. The Alex Troutt Thrillers are the first sub-series. While I'll eventually write a series that connects the major characters and plots from all the sub-series, you don't have to read the AT books prior to the IN books. But I have to say, the AT thrillers are darn good.

Q: So you're saying you don't have to read the Alex Troutt Thrillers before the Ivy Nash Thrillers?

JWM: Nope. While a few of the characters might occasionally overlap between the series, they can be read as stand-alone. And then I'll wrap everything up in a final set of six novels that connects all of the main characters and stories from each sub-series. If you haven't read any of the Alex Troutt thrillers yet, you can try out the first three at a pretty nice discount. Just search for Alex Troutt Box Set.

Q: Can you give some insight into how Ivy Nash might connect to Alex Troutt down the line?

JWM: Sure…and then I'll send over a hit squad. Seriously, I'll be sprinkling in a few clues along the way for those who pay close attention to the details, but it will all come together in that final six novels of the Redemption Thriller Series. And it will be explosive and gut-wrenching at the same time.

Q: How many different sub-series are you planning to have in the Redemption Thriller Series?

JWM: Right now, I see four sub-series in the Redemption Thriller Series, with six novels in each. It's the most challenging and fulfilling creative endeavor I've undertaken. I hope you enjoy the journey.


About the Author

A veteran of the corporate wars, former journalist, and true studier of human and social behavior, best-selling author John W. Mefford has been writing novels since he first entered the work force twenty-five years ago, although he never put words on paper until late 2009.

John writes novels full of intrigue, suspense, and thrills, but they also evoke an emotional connection with the characters.

When he’s not writing, he chases three kids around, slaves away in the yard, reads, takes in as many sports as time allows, watches all sorts of movies, and continues to make mental notes of people and societies across the land.

John lives in Frisco, Texas with his beautiful wife, three opinionated kids, and a feisty fat cat who rules the world.


Follow the tour
Photobucket
I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.

NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY
Win IN Pursuit by John W Mefford ebook
3 Winners!!
Ending on Sunday 9th April at 11.59pm CST
Open Worldwide 

Enter HERE

Good Luck !!


Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team - Apply Here x
Current book tours open for sign ups HERE





Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Bank On It - Building Your Savings Account



We could all do with trying a little harder at everything. A bit harder in the gym to shed the pounds, a bit harder at work to earn a promotion, a bit harder with our education to give us better prospects. It’s all about doing our best when we can to boost what we can!

So why don’t we all try hard to save money? Building a savings account can do a lot not just for our short-term financial security, but can also open up some amazing opportunities for us in the future. Not only can saving money allow us to buy what we want (from masses of YA fiction to a holiday abroad), but it’s the right thing to do for ourselves and our families.

One in five people have no savings at all. Nothing whatsoever. People seem to be getting into more jobs, people seem to be getting paid more and it looks like the economy might be in good health - but people aren't saving and are relying on just their monthly wages to get by. If something goes wrong in their lives, there is going to be no safety blanket - what do they do if something goes wrong and extra costs come out of nowhere?

It’s time to start putting money away. The best way to do that is to stay clear of any debts. There's something we all really want right now - the trouble is, life is allowing us to think we can get it before we can afford it. Credit cards and loans are ways that we can get anything we want, right now without working for it and truly earning for it. This instant gratification is dangerous! If you can get anything and are prepared to spend money you don't have, you're developing a seriously unhealthy spending habit that is going to cause you a lot of trouble and it won’t get you far. Debt is an easy thing to acquire and it will prevent you from saving. Why? Because the interest on debt is going to be way higher than the interest on even the most generous of savings accounts provided by a bank. If you don’t pay off debts, they build because of interest and that building of debt is going to outpace the speed of growth in your savings account by a long shot. Don’t waste money if you have debts, get rid of them! The big fight is against that feeling of gratification that buying provides us, but it can take away our financial safety nets and leave us high and dry. Will your new product care if you can’t keep up with your debts?
If you are debt free, keep it that way. It's a hard fight due to the onslaught of commercials and advertising directed at you as well as unforgiving finance deals and horrendous terms and conditions, but like anything good in life, you're going to have to fight for it.

Next? Start spending a lot less than you earn to build an excess of money at the end of every working month. This excess is now your savings, and you can use that to either buy what you want or you can put it into your savings account.

With an excess, next time you want something - a new TV, to pay more from your mortgage, an iPad - anything at all - you'll be able to get it with the help of saving up! It's a good habit, even if you are spending it on things like electronics and those saving habits can go a long way in the future.

To build your excess start to budget. One way to cut your monthly spend is to actually know what your monthly spend is. Keep your receipts and build a nice spreadsheet up to see some detailed expenses. Could you cut some money on beer each month? Do it! Could you save some money by walking a bit more? Do it! This is a good way to live frugally that doesn't take everything away from you. Spend less on clothes, food and the other expenses that cut into your excess so you can either save or buy things you actually want rather than things that make you happy for five minutes.

Sometimes, spending is a big part of saving. Say, for example, that you need to have your fresh pressed coffee from a coffee shop twice a day at eight dollars a go. That's sixteen dollars a day. In ten days that's 160 dollars, and in 100 it's 1600 dollars. A 150 dollar coffee machine does not cost 1600 dollars, thus saving you a fair bit of money in the long run, probably as much as half. You could cut coffee out in this example, but why should you unless you really want to save a lot of cash? You can also build your savings by selling things you don't want - the book collection you won't read or the blu-rays you won't watch can go to boost your savings. You can also get rid of gift cards you won't use to get some cash and that process is detailed at Cards2Cash.com. Do everything you can to boost your savings in the initial stage.

Finally, when you're in a good savings position, try to put down saving money as an expense. Putting 10% of your salary away a month as well as your excess is a great way to build cash in the short term. Ideally, you want six months of expenses saved up for any emergency situation.
When it comes to saving, spending should be seen as a reward. That gratification? It should be as a reward and not an everyday thing. Dangerous habits can develop if we get too used to spending lots of money, so steer clear of it to avoid debt and to develop the cash you can use to build your savings and access the rest of your life. It doesn’t have to be too much of a drag.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Protogenesis Review



A Terrible Tragedy…
One fateful day, life for California teenager Helene Crawford comes to a grinding halt. There was a fire. Her mother is “gone”. The police say she’s dead. But something’s not right…a maze of clues lead her to believe that her mom is still alive. 
The Answers lie in Greece…
The Greek Mafia may be involved. She has a crazy godfather in Athens she never knew she had. Vivid dreams of ancient gods consume her sleep. Helene must go to Greece. The answers to her quest to find her mom lie there.
A New Life, New Love…
Suddenly uprooted to move across the world, Helene must survive a new school and navigate the highs and lows of new love.  All of this in Greece, a country embroiled in economic crisis where the kids literally speak “Greek”. 
A Portal to Another World…
Through this daring journey, Helene will pass through the gates of her past to another world where the roots of modern civilization and the gods of her favorite ancient myths converge – in order to find her mom, find herself, find true love, become empowered and transform to fulfill her destiny.
Who knows? Maybe the gods and goddesses are on her side… or maybe not. After all, nothing is as it seems.
My Review

The imagery in the writing of this story grabs the reader from the first sentence and doesn't let go. The descriptions of the settings, and of Helene's dreams are vivid and easy to see in your mind’s eye. The story weaves together mystery and mythology in an amazing way that made this one of the funnest books I have read in a while. The characters are deeply developed, and I was quite invested in how Helene evolved and changed throughout the book. She went from a scared kid, to an amazing heroine by the end. This story was an intriguing and fun roller coaster ride. I can't wait to see what else this author has up her sleeves.


Tuesday, March 7, 2017

The University of Corporeal & Ethereal Studies Review


The University of Corporeal & Ethereal Studies tour

CorporealEtherealStudies_FrontCoverPromoPrint

At the University of Corporeal & Ethereal Studies meddling with unknown powers can be dangerous work. Courses in arts and sciences experiment with supernatural forces to solve the mysteries of the universe, but when school projects go awry, the students may discover more than they would like to about the madness of the cosmic 'Beyond'. Eight interwoven stories follow students whose school work, social lives and inner demons crash together, leading to fantastic and horrible experiences, supernatural powers, and a fuller understanding of the dark depths of their world. Classes include subjects such as time travel, alchemy, oneironautics , psychedelic transformation, rogue automatons, cosmic ghosts, reality-warping crystals, and more. Inspired by many authors of science fiction, fantasy and horror, including H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, J.K. Rowling, Neil Gaiman, William Gibson, Kurt Vonnegut and Isaac Asimov. 

 Buy on Amazon / Nook / Book Baby Wolfgang Edwards was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1987. He has been an aspiring writer since he was a child and intends to keep writing the rest of his life.

Review

This was a very entertaining read. I can honestly say this is one of the more original books I have read in quite a while. The stories in this novel are seperate but intertwined. This book would be hard to put just one label on. Steam punk, sci-fi, fantasy and horror all combine for a perfect recipe of attention grabbing storylines and characters. The chracters are well developed and the storylines kept me reading late into the night to find out what happened. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to lose several hours, or even days, in a great book.

Get the first book for FREE on Instafreebie when you sign up for Wolfgang Edwards' newsletter

Follow on Twitter / Facebook / Blog

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Belle Grove Review



The Eastern Shore fishing town of Corsica, Maryland is about to be shaken again from its idyllic way of life.

Julie Seevers, owner of a local herb shop, is spending too much time on her business and her marriage begins to suffer from neglect. Julie’s summer assistant, Tabs Tucker, a misanthropic teen, is on a quest to find her father. And Julie’s best friend, Libby Langston, who is looking for something to ignite the languor of the hot summer, decides to help Tabs in her quest.

But when Sonia Barnes, a newcomer to town, enters the shop they soon discover they are on a twisted path of betrayal, lies, clairvoyance, and even murder.

Haverford House, the first in the Corsica Series, earned a five-star review from Clarion/Foreword Reviews and was a finalist in the INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award.

Belle Grove continues the journey by weaving rich and unique characters through a mysterious plot set against the mystically beautiful backdrop of the Eastern Shore.

I received a copy of this book at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I could not put this book down once I started reading. The characters and the plot were so engaging that I felt like I was experiencing this mystery first hand. The descriptions of the setting brought beautiful pictures of seashores and ocean into my head. The details in the story make it feel all the more real to the reader. The mystery winds through more than 2 decades with a lot of intriguing twists and turns. If you are a mystery buff you need to check this story out!

Monday, February 27, 2017

Journey to Appleville Review



What can six kids from a local neighborhood do when they have a goal in mind? Embark on a quest to Appleville, of course! Join Kenan, Tu-Tu, Pedro, Liu-Liu, Lizzy, and Cassie as they overcome their fears with the help of the Appleville Fairy. Can you help them earn their Golden Apples?


We received a copy of Journey to Appleville at no cost in exchange for an honest review.


Review

Both my boys are avid readers so I love getting them new books. They really enjoyed this story. The characters in the story teach about friendship, working together and acomplishing what you put your mind to. These are valuable lessons that I want my boys to learn. The illustrations are engaging and colorful and kept my boys interest throughout the story. The boys enjoyed this book and have read it over and over! This is a cute story with a great lesson!

DLC Laboratories Product Review



From day one, more than half a century ago, DLC Laboratories, Inc. has been dedicated to bringing high quality health & personal care products to families like yours.  Dependability is our hallmark.  For generations we’ve offered proven products the whole family can use with comfort and confidence.


I received a variety of products from DLC Laboratories at no cost in exchange for an honest review.


Review

I received a variety of products from DLC Laboratories. I am impressed with the products sent to me from this company. We have a variety of skin care issues and needs in our house. We received the Arnica Salve, Camphor Ointment, Glycerin & Rose Water, Vitamin E lotion and Tea Tree and Jojoba Oil. This is almost everything you need for any skin care issue that may arise.

The Arnica Salve is great for dry, itchy, scaly skin areas, and is really good for cuts, burns and bites, which we get a lot of where we live. My boys play outside every day so there is always a scratch, cut, bite or other boo boo to take care of. A little bit of this goes a long way and the scent is not strong at all. This has also done wonders for my heels and elbows.

The Camphor Ointment is my husbands favorite product. He works outside a lot and tends to end his days with sore muscles. This ointment provides him immediate relief. This rubs in completely and does not stain his clothes.

The Glycerin & Rose Water is a nice skin cleanser for my face before I go to bed at night. I love the scent, and it's light and does not leave my skin dry or greasy.

The Vitamin E lotion is great for my dry hands, and keeps my cuticles soft and my hands feeling great. The lotion is great for applying right after a shower. My skin feels amazing and smells nice too.

The oils are handy for so many different uses. I literally could not live without my Tea Tree oil, I use this for too many things to list, from antiseptic to aromatherapy when we are sick with colds. I love essential oils and use them in place of chemicals whenever I can.

I am thoroughly impressed and love these products I got!

Friday, February 24, 2017

5 Quick, easy home maintenance tips


5 Quick, easy home maintenance tips

Home maintenance is a vast and never ending subject. From the very day of designing your new home, you will have to start maintaining it too. The maintenance of home is not just about furniture and paint, but there are many different elements that together keep your home in the tiptop condition. Before you carry out the home maintenance, ensure that you have some basic tools, working knowledge of operating those tools, little time, and a checklist to follow.
Following an organized process for home maintenance would keep you focused for quick and easy home maintenance. Some crucial areas of maintenance that would require regular inspection are mentioned here.

1. Electrical and Electronics

You would assume that there is no need of regular maintenance in this area till the things are working. The logic is correct partially, but not fully! Maintenance of electricals and electronics is not required only for smooth running or good performance, but it is also required to avoid any accident. Open wires, weathered electric fittings, uneven power supply, and inefficient safety switches can sometimes lead to a major accident. Inspect all the wiring, switches, and appliances twice in a year. Some electronics that are used according to the season may be inspected before the arrival of season. This would include air-conditioners and heaters. This inspection is crucial, so switch off the mains and wear proper safety gears before you start with the inspection process. You will have to drain the water heater, clean the air-conditioner filters, check the hose pipe of washing machine, and carry out many such inspections during the process.

2. Plumbing

Plumbing issues are popping all the time and need regular repairs. You can check the fittings on monthly basis to avoid major plumbing issue. The drainage for the bath tub and sinks would get clogged up eventually if you don’t take necessary cleaning measures.
* Oil and fat accumulation in kitchen sink would clog the drain badly. Avoid pouring such fats into the kitchen drain, and as the measure of safety you may pour hot water with dishwasher liquid to unclog the drain of any food residues.
* Bathroom drain clogs because of hair accumulation. Remove the hair filter in the bath tub or on the drainage, clean it and place it back. Drainage cleaning tools are also available for easy cleaning.
* The joints of faucets would start leaking after some years, so regularly tighten them with the help of proper tool. Get the well-equipped tool set at discounted prices from toolstop.co.uk or similar other to make things easier.

3. Painting

Getting the entire home repainted would take up lot of money and time. You can make this task easier by carrying out regular touch-ups in the areas where there is a need. Keep the leftover paint handy, so that you don’t have to head to a shop every time before carrying out the touch-up. You will get the
exact shade of the paint when you carry the sample to the shop. While painting the surface that needs touch-up, make sure that you cover other areas where you don’t intend to carry out any touch-ups.

4. Deep-cleaning and testing

Deep-cleaning the house is very much a necessity. You can do it quarterly. Deep-cleaning is not the superficial cleaning and would require cleaning of every nook and corner. Here is the deep cleaning checklist –
* Vacuum everything starting from furniture to window channels.
* Clean the chimney filters. Clean or replace the furnace filters as directed by the manufacturer.
* Vacuum the exhaust duct of clothes dryer.
* Clean the toilet drainage. Deep clean the tiles, exhaust, and ventilation.
* AC filters accumulate debris and leaves. Vacuum the filter or wash it to get clean air.
* Clean the walls with a vacuum or you can also opt for wet cleaning if the paint is water-proof.
* Test the garage door openers almost every month to ensure that there is no fault in the sensor.
* Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI) should be tested to see that it trips immediately on high power voltage. You will need a voltage tester too.


5. Seepage
This is one of the most annoying issues that your home will face. This single issue will bring multiple issues if not treated in time. Some gaps in the bathroom flooring or walls would result into seepage that reaches out to the walls all around. Before the seepage affects your expensive wall-paper or paint, get it treated. You can fill up the gaps with grout or gel to get relief from seepage issues. Some more complex issues created out of concealed fittings may need professional involvement.
Your home is the place where you return after the whole day’s work to relax and rejuvenate. Keep it tidy and topnotch, so that you don’t experience the stress of petty issues that come your way.

Giving Your Child The Best Start In Life





When you become a parent there are no amount of guidebooks that can help you ensure you are doing the right thing.  All children are different and all parents are different, so it stands to reason that no two situations are going to be the same.  However there are a set of golden rules you need to follow which will give your children the best start in life.  Regardless of how you set about putting them in place.

If you have a newborn, you will probably notice how much sleep deprivation gets to you.  It makes your mind go crazy, reduces your body’s ability to repair itself and can eventually lead to depression.  Of course if you have a young baby then you just have to keep at a regular routine to try and teach her to find her own natural rhythm.  It may not feel like it but you will get there!

By the time your children reach four years old, they should be well rehearsed at sleeping in their own bedroom.  However there are children who just can’t settle.  It is important you aren’t tempted to over love them.  By running every time they call or falling into the trap of letting them jump into your bed in the middle of the night, you are making a rod for your own back.  As soon as your child is old enough to sleep in their own bed, you need to work on ways of making this an exciting time, not too exciting though! A great way to do this is to turn their room into a feature room.  Do they enjoy camping? Or are they the biggest Lightning McQueen fan? Don’t just opt for a run of the mill bed.  Find a company that makes feature kids beds such as princess castles or little loft beds.  Get them into a really good bedtime routine.  Make washing something fun by spending time with them when they are bathing, or brush your teeth together and start your skincare routine at their bedtime.  Make it normal and ensure you stick to the same time every night.  Some children find the bedroom too quiet or too dark, it’s ok to leave a hall light on until they drop off, or better still have a small, soft nightlight in their room.  This way if they do get up during the night they won’t be scared and run straight to your room.  Instead they may just gently drift off to sleep.  


As children become teenagers the temptation to let their bedtime routine slip becomes more common.  However there are so many changes running through their bodies that sleep is more vital than ever.  Stick to your guns with earlier bedtimes and make sure you take away all their gadgets and handheld devices overnight.  Allow them to read if they want to, but make sure they aren’t staying up late whilst you are downstairs relaxing.   Without enough sleep teenagers will find it harder to make rational decisions and to concentrate in class.  So whilst you might seem like the constant nagger, you are giving them a very important gift.  If they can master a good routine now then it will be easier to manage their own bedtimes when they get to adult life.  Let’s face it! Most of us are guilty of staying up late and watching TV.

Another important start to give your children is teaching them to look after their skin and bodies carefully.  It sounds crazy, but ensuring your son or daughter knows how to wash their personal areas will make them less prone to infections as they grow older.  Yes, it can be a little awkward but if you focus on teaching them at a very young age then it will be natural as they become older.  

Of course a child won’t need the same skincare routine as you do but that doesn’t mean you can’t lead the way with setting a routine.  Find some great natural products that won’t be harsh on your child’s delicate skin then talk to them about what you are doing and why.  It is really important to teach them how fragile skin is and how important SPF is for protecting your face from the sun.  Obviously all this chat should be fairly light hearted but a child who sees their mum looking after their skin, is more likely to follow suit.  Whilst they may not thank you for it now, they certainly will appreciate it as they turn into young adults and even more so when they hit 40 and still look 20.  Of course it is also important to teach them the benefits of using natural products over the harsher high street ones.  Not just on your skin but also on the environment.  


When they reach the teen years you may find yourself in the great make up debate.  This is a battle you are better off compromising over.  A little give will ensure your daughter (or son, it is a modern world after all) feels a part of the crowd but doesn’t go to the heavy extreme and end up leaving the house looking 15 years older than she is.  When they start experimenting with the subject, take them out to more natural shops such as The Body Shop and ask an assistant to help choose out some naturally enhancing make up.  A tinted moisturiser is a good compromise, giving a gentle coverage without going full on.  A light brown mascara will give a subtle effect and maybe a lip tint or tinted lip balm.  As they grow, allow them to experiment but help guide them by teaching them how to blend.  You went through this, remember! Let them learn from your mistakes but allow them to make some of their own.

Finally, teaching your children how to deal with emotion when they are young is going to set them up for a more balanced adult life.  We can be tempted to hide our emotions, fears and heartaches from the children.  Shielding them from the adult stuff.  But try to remember that they tune in to our emotions far better than we give them credit for.  Of course you shouldn’t be sharing all the details of your life but if something is going on and you know it is affecting you, do not hide it.  You are teaching them to hold onto emotions and withdraw.  Instead talk openly where appropriate and share a little bit of your sadness or fears with them.  As they grow older, listen to their advice.  Kids are pretty darn straight about things and often say it as it should be said.  If there are troubled times coming then prepare them, but reassure them things will be ok.  

Above all, listen.  Allow your children to express all their emotions to you without feeling they will get into trouble or cause you upset.  You may have to take a huge deep breath when teenagers share their life stories with you, but take it.  Because you are far better having a child that shares, than a child who doesn’t.  You may not like what goes on in their world, but it is better you know, rather than something hitting you both out of the blue.

Parenting is really tough.  Being a kid is pretty tough too.  So work together and you will have laid positive foundations for them to grow from.  Hopefully they will use your lessons to guide their own children one day.